The Board of Supervisors consists of five representatives, one from each of the County’s five magisterial districts: Brookland, Fairfield, Three Chopt, Tuckahoe and Varina. Supervisors are elected for four-year terms. The Board is the policy-making body of the County and is vested with all rights and powers as specified by state law known as the County Manager Form (Section 15.2-600 through Section 15.2-642). The Board takes action by the adoption of ordinances, resolutions and motions. It must adopt an ordinance when amending the Code of the County of Henrico, Virginia, and borrowing money or levying a tax.

The Board elects annually a chairman who presides at each Board meeting and serves as the official head of the County government, and a vice chairman who serves in the absence of the chairman. This election occurs in January of each calendar year. To view an historical photo gallery of past chairmen of the Board of Supervisors, use this link.

The administrative head of the county manager form of government is the county manager. The county manager is appointed by the Board of Supervisors and serves at the pleasure of the Board. The manager is a full-time employee who may, at the discretion of the Board, also serve as the head of one or more of the departments of County government. The duties of the county manager are to carry out the policies determined by the Board of Supervisors, to coordinate the business affairs of the County by installation and enforcement of administrative procedures, and to conduct the day-to-day business operations through a staff of professional administrators. This position has no definite term and the manager may be removed by a majority vote of the Board at any time.

The county manager form of government allows for the grouping and consolidation of administrative functions of the County into departments. The constitutional offices of treasurer and commissioner of the revenue do not exist under the county manager form of government. Those functions are combined into a Department of Finance which is headed by a director of finance. Heads of all County government departments with the exception of the following constitutional officers are appointed and discharged by the county manager: clerk of the circuit court, commonwealth’s attorney and sheriff.

Within the limits set by the County personnel system, pay and classification plan, the county manager determines and fixes the salaries of all appointees (employees).

The School Board is elected by the voters to represent each of the five magisterial districts. They are elected for the same four-year terms as the Board of Supervisors. The School Board is responsible for the allocation and control of school finances, programs and personnel and appoints the superintendent of schools.