Board of Supervisors
James B. Donati, Jr., Chairman
David A. Kaechele, Vice-Chairman
Richard W. Glover
Patricia S. O'Bannon
Frank J. Thornton

County Manager
Virgil R. Hazelett, P.E.
Header graphic
Published by the Henrico County Manager's Office
County Seal

Horizontal Line


Summary of Actions Taken by the Board on October 23, 2007


Mr. Donati led the Board, staff, and public in reciting the Pledge of Allegiance.


Chaplain Thomas Wooden provided the invocation.


The Board approved the minutes of the October 9, 2007 Regular and Special Meetings and September 25, 2007 Regular Meeting.



At the Keep Virginia Beautiful’s Annual Awards Ceremony on October 10, 2007, the County’s Keep Henrico Beautiful Program was awarded First Place for Litter Prevention in conjunction with Spotsylvania County Litter Control.  Keep Henrico Beautiful and Spotsylvania County Litter Control worked together to create “The Quest for a Clean Community,” an educational game that highlights environmental topics.  Designed for students in grades three through five, the game is made from reusable and recyclable materials, supports Virginia’s Standards of Learning, and complements the Keep Henrico Beautiful Program’s educational initiatives.  Mr. Donati presented a plaque from Keep Virginia Beautiful to Megan Brown, Executive Coordinator of Keep Henrico Beautiful, and Arthur Petrini, Director of the County’s Department of Public Utilities.


Stephen Marshall, a Laboratory Analyst for the County’s Department of Public Utilities, is this year’s recipient of the Water Environment Federation (WEF) Laboratory Analyst Award, which recognizes individuals for outstanding performance, professionalism, and contributions to the water quality analysis profession.  The award was presented by a WEF representative at the Virginia Water Environment Association’s annual meeting in Hampton this past September.  Mr. Marshall was nominated for his outstanding initiative, innovation, reliability, and professionalism in providing critical tests needed to protect human health and the environment.  Mr. Donati presented a plaque from WEF to Mr. Marshall, who was joined by Mr. Petrini and Mark Prentice, Water Reclamation Facility Division Director.    

For the 26th consecutive year, the Government Finance Officers Association (GFOA) of the United States and Canada has awarded the County with the Certificate of Achievement for Excellence in Financial Reporting for the County’s Comprehensive Annual Financial Report.  This award is the highest form of recognition in the area of governmental accounting and financial reporting and is highly regarded by Moody’s, Standard & Poor’s, and Fitch Investors Service as an indication of good financial management.  Mr. Donati presented a plaque from GFOA to John Vithoulkas, Acting Director of Finance, and the following employees of the Department of Finance’s Accounting Division who were principally responsible for preparing the award-winning report:  Clarence Daniel, Accounting Division Director; Larry Seay, Fixed Assets Manager; and Tim Leclerc, Accounting Section Manager.


For the 19th consecutive year, the County has received the Distinguished Budget Presentation Award from GFOA after the County’s budget document was reviewed and rated favorably by an expert panel of independent budget professionals.  This award reflects the commitment of many individuals to meeting the highest standards of governmental budgeting and also reflects the leadership and support of elected and appointed officials as well as the expertise, professionalism, and many hours of hard work by staff.  Mr. Donati presented a plaque from GFOA to Mr. Vithoulkas and the following employees of the Department of Finance’s Management and Budget Division who played a key role in the development of the County’s budget:  Eugene Walter, Management & Budget Division Acting Director; and Budget Analysts Justin Crawford, Brandon Hinton, Juan Smith, and Sharon Van Gils.




Mr. Donati recognized the following Boy Scouts from Troop 501, sponsored by Laurel Hill United Methodist Church , who were observing the meeting to fulfill a requirement for the Citizenship in the Community Merit Badge: David Duke, David Henderson, Jeff Henderson, and Nelson Humphrey. He also recognized Stan Tucker from Boy Scout Troop 418, sponsored by St. Stephen’s Episcopal Church, who was observing the meeting to fulfill a requirement for the Communications Merit Badge.


Mr. Donati announced that the County will be dedicating the Henrico Theatre in Highland Springs on Saturday, October 27, 2007, from 1:00 to 4:00 p.m.  This newly renovated art deco facility was built in 1938 and purchased by the County in 1999.   Mr. Donati invited those who are interested to visit this awesome facility and see what it is going to provide to County citizens.



Mr. Donati recognized Will Jones of the Richmond Times-Dispatch.



Mr. Donati presented a proclamation recognizing November 2007 as Family Health History Month.  Accepting the proclamation were Paula G. Reid, Assistant Director of the County’s Department of Human Resources, and Mark J. Levine, M.D., Director of the Henrico County Health Department. 




Resolution Congratulating Family Lifeline on Its 130th Anniversary.  Accepting the proclamation were Reed R. Henderson, President & CEO of Family Lifeline, and Hugh F. Goldthorpe, Chairman of the Board of Directors for Family Lifeline and Senior Vice President of Quality and Communications for Owens & Minor.





Ordinance to Amend and Reordain Subdivision (3) of Subsection (e) of Section 20-72 of the Code of the County of Henrico Titled “Elderly or permanently and totally disabled persons” to Increase the Income Limit under the Tax Relief for the Elderly or Permanently and Totally Disabled Program (REAP) from $52,000 to $62,000.




Ordinance to Amend and Reordain Section 15-58 of the Code of the County of Henrico Titled “Concealed handgun permit” Relating to the Issuance of Concealed Handgun Permits.




Ordinance for Vacation of Portion of Drainage and Utility Easement, Lot 12, Block B, Section 1, Westbury Estates, located in the Three Chopt District.




Resolution for Signatory Authority for Second Amendment to Lease Agreement with RCTC Wholesale Corporation d/b/a ALLTEL, located in the Varina District.






Resolution for Signatory Authority for Award of Construction Contract for Gambles Mill Sewage Pumping Station Flow Equalization Basin Improvements to Waco, Inc.




Emergency Ordinance to Establish Mandatory Restrictions on the Use of Water From the County’s Public Water System and Penalties of Fifty Dollars For the Second Violation and One Hundred Dollars For Each Subsequent Violation of the Restrictions.




Resolution accepting Oakland Chase, Section 1, and Oakland Trace, located in the Varina District, into the County road system for maintenance.




Resolution for Settlement of Alicia R. Bebout, etc. v. Edward J. Kubicki.


Proud of Our Progress; Excited About Our Future.

Horizontal Line

Subscribe to the Agend-O-Gram. Use this link to find out how.

Read the latest issue of Henrico Today, distributed with the Richmond Times-Dispatch.

Return to Meeting Information Page

Return to Board and Manager's Office page

Return to main Henrico page

Visitor CenterResident CenterBusiness Center
A-Z DirectoryContact