COUNTY OF HENRICO, VIRGINIA BOARD OF SUPERVISORS SPECIAL MEETING August 8, 2023

The Henrico County Board of Supervisors convened a special meeting at 4:30 p.m. on Tuesday, August 8, 2023, in the County Manager's Conference Room, Administration Building, Henrico County Government Center, Parham and Hungary Spring Roads, Henrico, Virginia.

Members of the Board Present:

Frank J. Thornton, Chairman, Fairfield District Tyrone E. Nelson, Vice-Chairman, Varina District Thomas M. Branin, Three Chopt District Patricia S. O'Bannon, Tuckahoe District Daniel J. Schmitt, Brookland District

Other Officials Present:

John A. Vithoulkas, County Manager
Andrew Newby, County Attorney
Lee Ann Anderson, Chief Deputy County Attorney
Tanya N. Brackett, CMC, Assistant to the County Manager/Clerk to the Board
Michael Y. Feinmel, Deputy County Manager for Public Safety
W. Brandon Hinton, Deputy County Manager for Administration
Cari M. Tretina, Deputy County Manager/Chief of Staff
Benjamin A. Sheppard, Director of Public Relations

Prior to the meeting beginning Mr. Vithoulkas recognized Mr. Nelson with a cake to celebrate his 50th birthday.

On motion of Mrs. O'Bannon, seconded by Mr. Mr. Schmitt, the Board approved going into a Closed Meeting at 4:36 p.m. for the following purpose:

Consultation with legal counsel pertaining to specific legal matters requiring the provision of legal advice concerning claims and probable litigation of a civil nature involving the County and County personnel, pursuant to Section 2.2-377(A)(7)-(8) of the Code of Virginia, because consultation in an open meeting would adversely affect the negotiating and litigating position of the County.

The vote of the Board was as follows:

Aye
Frank J. Thornton
Tyrone E. Nelson
Thomas M. Branin
Patricia S. O'Bannon
Daniel J. Schmitt

Nay

On motion of Mrs. O'Bannon, seconded by Mr. Schmitt, and by unanimous vote, the Board approved going out of the Closed Meeting at 6:59 p.m.

Nay

Nay

The vote of the Board was as follows:

Aye Frank J. Thornton Tyrone E. Nelson Thomas M. Branin

Patricia S. O'Bannon

Daniel J. Schmitt

On motion of Mrs. O'Bannon, seconded by Mr. Mr. Branin, and by unanimous vote, the Board approved the attached Certificate of Closed Meeting.

The vote of the Board was as follows:

Aye

Frank J. Thornton

Tyrone E. Nelson

Thomas M. Branin

Patricia S. O'Bannon

Daniel J. Schmitt

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 7:00 p.m.

Chairman Board of Supervisors

Henrico County, Virginia

Frank Q. Thornton