Board of Supervisors

Frank J. Thornton, Chairman Tyrone E. Nelson, Vice Chairman Thomas M. Branin Courtney D. Lynch Patricia S. O'Bannon

Supervisors' Agend-O-Gram

County Manager John A. Vithoulkas

Published by the Henrico County Manager's Office

Summary of Actions Taken by the Board on January 9, 2018

Mrs. O'Bannon led recitation of the Pledge of Allegiance.

The Reverend Dr. Price L. Davis, Senior Pastor of Mosby Memorial Baptist Church, delivered the invocation.

The Board approved the minutes of the December 12, 2017, Regular and Special Meetings.

MANAGER'S COMMENTS

The first winter storm of 2018 moved into Henrico County on the evening of January 3 and presented hazardous conditions to residents. In addition to heavy winds and the accumulation of up to four inches of snow east of Interstate 95, temperatures dipped to record lows throughout the next several days, which prolonged icy driving conditions and caused several water main breaks. County facilities opened on a two-hour delay on January 4. Director Steve Yob and his team in the Department of Public Works dispatched 75 work crews, operating on 12-hour rotating shifts, to treat the County's road systems during the storm by spreading more than 5,000 tons of salt and deicing material. Director Chip England and his team in the Department of Public Utilities (DPU) dealt with 58 water main breaks, and over 30 DPU employees made repairs with support from the County's annual contractor. Due to the exceptional efforts of these directors and their dedicated staffs, as well as the efforts of employees of public safety agencies, the Department of General Services, and the Division of Recreation and Parks employees, Henrico citizens were kept as safe as possible and County facilities operated on schedule following the January 4 delayed opening. An early estimate of this storm's cost to the County is \$2.5 million, \$600,000 above the cost of last year's winter storm that brought nine inches of snow to Henrico.

BOARD OF SUPERVISORS' COMMENTS

Mrs. O'Bannon eulogized two notable residents of the Tuckahoe District who recently died, Howard Wesley Dobbins and Francis Alfred "Bud" Hare. Mr. Dobbins retired as an attorney at the age of 95 and served for many years as General Counsel of the Virginia Municipal League. Mrs. O'Bannon pointed out Mr. Dobbins was a towering person in the legal profession; had a great sense of humor; and was very good to local government officials, with fast and correct answers to their questions.

Mr. Ware served as Chief Probation Officer for Henrico County and later as Director of Court Services for the Richmond Juvenile and Domestic Relations Court but was best known for his love of baseball and for coaching Tuckahoe Little League teams, including successful all-star teams. He stayed active with Tuckahoe Little League for many years as President, a Board member, and in other capacities. Mrs. O'Bannon noted Mr. Hare's prominent role in establishing the league's Challenger program and field for mentally and physically handicapped youth and remarked that he will be missed, especially for his work with the league.

RECOGNITION OF NEWS MEDIA

Mrs. O'Bannon recognized Michael O'Connor from the Richmond Times-Dispatch.

APPOINTMENTS/RESIGNATION/ORGANIZATIONAL ITEMS

1-18 Approved	Resolution – Election of Chairman. (Frank J. Thornton)
2-18 Approved	Resolution – Election of Vice Chairman. (Tyrone E. Nelson)
3-18 Approved	Resolution - Establishment of Dates, Times and Location of Regular Meetings of the Board of Supervisors for 2018.
4-18 Approved	Resolution - Appointment of Members - Board of Real Estate Review and Equalization. (Jenny M. High, Robert W. Marshall, John J. Schwartz, and Michael W. Goodwin)
5-18 Approved	Resolution - Appointment of Members - Cable Television Advisory Committee. (Margo M. McKnight; Rajendra R. Dubey; Samuel B. Straus; and Walter L. Johnson, Jr.)
6-18 Approved	Resolution - Appointment of Member and Alternate - Capital Region Workforce Partnership Consortium of Chief Local Elected Officials. (Frank J. Thornton and W. Brandon Hinton)
7-18 Approved	Resolution - Appointment of Members and Alternates - Central Virginia Waste Management Authority Board of Directors. (Marcia E. Kelley, J. Allen Lane, Robert C. Whiteman, Bentley P. Chan, Charles B. England, and Jonathan R. Clary)
8-18 Approved	Resolution - Resignation of Member from the Board of Directors - Economic Development Authority. (Patrick R. Liverpool)

9-18 Resolution - Appointment of Member to Board of Directors - Economic Approved Development Authority. (Dennis J. Berman) 10-18 Resolution - Appointment of Persons Eligible to Serve as Third Member of Employee Grievance Panels. (Jackson C. Knox; William E. Lowe; Stanley M. Approved Booker, Sr.; Reena Jain; Sanjay Mittal; Poovillam Subramanium-Moothathu; John B. Wake, Jr.; Carlos L. Chacon, Jr.; and Erika H. Moseley) 11-18 Resolution - Appointment of Members - Henrico Area Mental Health and Approved Developmental Services Board. (Karen W. Grizzard and William P. Hart, III) 12-18 Resolution - Appointment of Member - Henrico County Association of Volunteer Rescue Squads. (Patricia S. O'Bannon) Approved 13-18 Resolution - Appointment of Members - Henrico County Planning Commission. (Adrienne F. Kotula, Chris W. Archer, Sandra M. Marshall, Gregory R. Baka, Approved Eric S. Leabough, and Patricia S. O'Bannon) 14-18 Resolution – Appointment of Members - Historic Preservation Advisory Committee. (John G. Shuck; Robin D. Smith; Vee J. Davis; Charlotte W. Approved Melton; J. Joseph Boehling, III; G. Norwood Nuckols, Jr.; Patricia M. Eichenberger; K. Francine Stanley; Henry L. Nelson, Jr.; and Jennifer L. Thomas) 15-18 Resolution - Appointment of Members - Keep Henrico Beautiful Committee. (Norma Jean Beaken, Leslyn M. Broughton, Dale B. Alexander, Marc G. Rene, Approved Jennifer D. Sanford-Caples, Bland S. Goddin, and Priscilla W. Woods) **16-18** Resolution - Appointment of Members - Library Advisory Board. (James A. Approved Fueglein, Harmohinder P. Singh-Sandhu, Goutam Gandhi, Tammy R. Johnson Beard, and Gail A. Atkins) 17-18 Resolution - Appointment of Member - Maymont Foundation Board of Approved Directors. (Frank J. Thornton) 18-18 Resolution - Appointment of Members - Parks and Recreation Advisory Commission. (Vikas Kapila and Frank J. Thornton) Approved

19-18 Resolution - Appointment of Member - Richmond Region Tourism Board of Approved Directors. (Brenda H. HuYoung)

20-18 Resolution - Appointment of Member - Richmond Regional Planning District Approved Commission. (Sandra M. Marshall and William M. Mackey, Jr.)

21-18 Resolution - Appointment of Representatives and Alternate - Richmond **Approved** Regional Transportation Planning Organization Policy Board. (Patricia S.

O'Bannon, Frank J. Thornton, and Thomas M. Branin)

PUBLIC COMMENTS

There were no comments from the public.