Board of Supervisors Richard W. Glover, Chairman Patricia S. O'Bannon, Vice Chairman Thomas M. Branin Tyrone E. Nelson Frank J. Thornton Supervisors' Agend-O-Gram



County Manager John A. Vithoulkas Published by the Henrico County Manager's Office

Summary of Actions Taken by the Board on January 10, 2017

Mr. Nelson led recitation of the Pledge of Allegiance.

Dr. Mark Becton, Senior Pastor of Grove Avenue Baptist Church, delivered the invocation.

The Board approved the minutes of the December 13, 2016, Regular and Special Meetings.

MANAGER'S COMMENTS

The severe winter storm that moved into Henrico County on the evening of January 6 brought near record low temperatures and snow accumulations of up to nine inches. The Department of Public Works dispatched 80 crews that worked 12-hour rotating shifts and spread over 10,710 tons of salt and 323 tons of sand. The Department of Public Utilities sent out crews to continue trash collection services during the storm and completed their scheduled collections without incident. Henrico citizens were kept safe and all County facilities opened on schedule on January 9 due to the exceptional effort of employees in these departments the Department of General Services, and the Divisions of Police, Fire, and Recreation and Parks. An early cost estimate of this storm is \$1.9 million. Mr. Vithoulkas thanked and recognized Steve Yob, Director of Public Works, and Bentley Chan, Operations Division Director for the Department of Public Utilities.

BOARD OF SUPERVISORS' COMMENTS

On behalf of the Board, Mr. Nelson congratulated Mr. Vithoulkas on 20 years of service with Henrico County. Mr. Vithoulkas started with the County in January 1997 as a Budget Analyst in the Department of Finance and was unanimously appointed to his current position of County Manager in January 2013 after receiving several promotions over the years. Mr. Nelson noted Mr. Vithoulkas' vision of outstanding service to the Henrico community and how Mr. Vithoulkas uses his energy, passion, creativity, and financial expertise to manage the County efficiently and effectively. In the relatively short time Mr. Vithoulkas has been County Manager, he has already achieved many significant accomplishments, including passage of the meals tax, implementation of cost-cutting efficiencies, and the record-setting voter affirmation of the bond referendum this past fall.

RECOGNITION OF NEWS MEDIA

Mr. Nelson recognized Debbie Truong from the Richmond Times-Dispatch.

APPOINTMENTS/RESIGNATIONS/ORGANIZATIONAL ITEMS

1-17 Approved	Resolution - Election of Chairman. (Richard W. Glover)
2-17 Approved	Resolution - Election of Vice Chairman. (Patricia S. O'Bannon)
3-17 Approved	Resolution - Establishment of Dates, Times and Location of Regular Meetings of the Board of Supervisors for 2017.
4-17 Approved	Resolution – Appointment of Members – Board of Building Code Appeals. (Donald L. Strange-Boston and Thomas A. Rochecharlie, III)
5-17 Approved	Resolution – Appointment of Members – Board of Real Estate Review and Equalization. (Sheila C. Epps, Robert W. Marshall, John J. Schwartz, and Michael W. Goodwin)
6-17 Approved	Resolution – Appointment of Members – Cable Television Advisory Committee. (Margo M. McKnight; Charles M. Sheppard; Rajenda R. Dubey; Samuel B. Straus; and Walter L. Johnson, Jr.)
7-17 Approved	Resolution – Appointment of Member and Alternate – Capital Region Workforce Partnership Consortium of Chief Local Elected Officials. (Richard W. Glover and W. Brandon Hinton)
8-17 Approved	Resolution – Appointment of Member – Community Criminal Justice Board. (Pierre L. Greene)
9-17 Approved	Resolution – Appointment of Persons Eligible to Serve as Third Member of Employee Grievance Panels. (Clyde L. Hughes, Jr.; William E. Lowe; Stanley M. Booker, Sr.; Reena Jain; Alexander L. Taylor, Jr.; Poovillam Subramanium-Moothathu; John B. Wake, Jr.; Carlos L. Chacon, Jr.; and Ericka H. Moseley)
10-17 Approved	Resolution – Appointment of Members – Henrico Area Mental Health and Developmental Services Board. (Wanetta J. Grignol; Jessica Young Brown; Evelyn O. Dodge; and James E. Cox, Jr.)

[&]quot;Proud of Our Progress; Excited About Our Future." Visit Henrico County on the web at http://henrico.us

11-17 Approved	Resolution – Appointment of Member – Henrico County Association of Volunteer Rescue Squads. (Patricia S. O'Bannon)
12-17 Approved	Resolution – Appointment of Members – Henrico County Planning Commission. (Robert H. Witte, Jr.; Chris W. Archer; Sandra M. Marshall; Gregory R. Baka; Eric S. Leabough; and Tyrone E. Nelson)
13-17 Approved	Resolution – Resignation of Members – Historic Preservation Advisory Committee. (Beverley H. Davis and Jeanne E. McNeil)
14-17 Approved	Resolution – Appointment of Members – Historic Preservation Advisory Committee. (Jennifer L. Thomas)
15-17 Approved	Resolution – Appointment of Member – John Tyler Alcohol Safety Action Program Policy Board. (George Barton Chucker)
16-17 Approved	Resolution – Appointment of Members – Keep Henrico Beautiful Committee. (Marie C. Dunford, Lynne M. Yurchak, Marian J. Martin, Brian S. Montgomery, Marina L. Alderson, Reena Jain, James R. Barrett, Kendall E. Tyree, Norma B. Harris, Aileen Rivera, and Kelly S. Brooks)
17-17 Approved	Resolution – Appointment of Members – Library Advisory Board. (Gloria L. Wilkerson, Harmonhinder P. Singh-Sandhu, Goutam Gandhi, Tammy R. Johnson Beard, and Gail A. Atkins)
18-17 Approved	Resolution – Nomination of Members – Local Emergency Planning Committee. (Warren A. Winner, David B. Coldren, Nelson Wikstrom, Faith B. Harris, Patricia S. O'Bannon, Stephen L. Weis, John T. Tatum, Anna M. McRay, Gregory A. Nuckols, Robert M. Paxton, Jonathan R. Clary, Steven J. Yob, Brian R. Cowles, Anthony J. Gordon, Tamra R. McKinney, and David S. Calkins)
19-17 Approved	Resolution – Appointment of Member – Maymont Foundation Board of Directors. (Frank J. Thornton)
20-17 Approved	Resolution – Appointment of Members – Parks and Recreation Advisory Commission. (Joseph L. Coleman, Jr.; F. Philip Parker, Jr.; Mary Jo Qureshi; Thurgood O. Ampey; and Frank J. Thornton)
21-17 Approved	Resolution – Appointment of Member – Richmond Region Tourism Board of Directors. (Louis R. Dean)

"Proud of Our Progress; Excited About Our Future." Visit Henrico County on the web at http://henrico.us

22-17	Resolution – Appointment of Member – Richmond Regional Planning District
Approved	Commission. (Eric S. Leabough)
23-17 Approved	Resolution – Appointment of Members – Richmond Regional Transportation Planning Organization Citizens Transportation Advisory Committee. (Jessica Amber Burke)
24-17 Approved	Resolution – Appointment of Representatives and Alternate – Richmond Regional Transportation Planning Organization Policy Board. (Patricia S. O'Bannon; Frank J. Thornton; and Thomas M. Branin)
25-17	Resolution – Appointment of Members – Transportation Safety Commission.
Approved	(John W. Lucord, III; Sanjay Mittal; R. Edward Rhodes, Jr.; Walter L. Johnson, Jr.; Clarence T. Hunter, Jr.; and Thomas M. Branin)

PUBLIC COMMENTS

John Martin Owens, a resident of the Varina District, updated the Board on his Keep Henrico Beautiful project. He also suggested a higher rate of compensation for members of the Board that would enable persons to serve on the Board as a full-time job.

Michael F. Keegan, a resident of the Three Chopt District, thanked members of the Board, Mr. Yob, and the Department of Public Works for their work on several recent bicycling infrastructure projects.