#### **Board of Supervisors**

Frank J. Thornton, Chairman Tyrone E. Nelson, Vice Chairman Richard W. Glover David A. Kaechele Patricia S. O'Bannon

# Supervisors' Agend-O-Gram

CONTRACTOR HENRICO

**County Manager** John A. Vithoulkas

Published by the Henrico County Manager's Office

## Summary of Actions Taken by the Board on January 13, 2015

Mrs. O'Bannon led recitation of the Pledge of Allegiance.

The Reverend Sara-Scott Wingo, Priest in Charge for Emmanuel Episcopal Church, delivered the invocation.

The Board approved the minutes of the December 9, 2014, Regular and Special Meetings.

### **MANAGER'S COMMENTS**

On January 2, Henrico Police Sergeant R. L. Heinig and Officers T. J. O'Keefe, J. W. Caravaglia, and D. M. Daily traveled to New York City to pay their respects on behalf of the Henrico Police Division to fallen New York Police Department (NYPD) Officers Wenjian Liu and Rafael Ramos. While attending the funeral and laying a wreath at Precinct 84 to honor and support the officers and the families of those who have died in the line of duty, Henrico's four officers joined hands and led the other officers in prayer. Mr. Vithoulkas recognized Fire Chief Tony McDowell, Fire Captain Danny Rosenbaum, and Police Chief Doug Middleton. Chief McDowell noted that police officers have been targeted in senseless acts of violence, from New York City to Paris, France, and further noted that 126 police officers were killed in the line of duty in the United States last year. Recently, many individuals have shown their appreciation and support by placing blue light lenses over their front porch light, a symbolic gesture intended as a sign of respect and support for law enforcement. Henrico firefighters work very closely with their "brothers in blue" and feel it is important and necessary to express their appreciation, solidarity, and support for everything Henrico police officers do, day in and day out, to keep the community safe. On behalf of the men and women of the Division of Fire, Chief McDowell presented Chief Middleton and the men and women of the Police Division with a special plaque that Captain Rosenbaum made with his own hands and on his own time. The plaque is a laser-engraved glass carving of the Police Division patch, encased in Honduran mahogany and lit with blue LED lights. Chief Middleton expressed his gratitude to the Division of Fire on behalf of the Police Division and commented on the support Henrico police officers receive from the Board of Supervisors and from their community. Mrs. O'Bannon pointed out that Chief Middleton and the well-trained Police Division are forward-thinking and always seem to be a step ahead of everybody else in the country on important issues. She expressed her appreciation for their hard work.

### **BOARD OF SUPERVISORS' COMMENTS**

Mrs. O'Bannon recognized the following Boy Scouts who were observing the meeting: Hunter Locker from Troop 418, sponsored by St. Stephen's Episcopal Church, who is working on the Citizenship in the Community merit badge; Justin Curtis from Troop 730, sponsored by St. Andrew's United Methodist Church; Nick Kaulfers from Troop 710, sponsored by American Legion Post 215, who is working on the Citizenship in the Community merit badge; and Benjamin Thornton from Troop 500, sponsored by Hope Community Church of the Nazarene, who is working on the First Aid merit badge.

### **RECOGNITION OF NEWS MEDIA**

Mrs. O'Bannon recognized Ted Strong from the Richmond Times-Dispatch.

## APPOINTMENTS/RESIGNATIONS/ORGANIZATIONAL ITEMS

1-15 Approved	Resolution - Election of Chairman. (Frank J. Thornton)
2-15 Approved	Resolution - Election of Vice Chairman. (Tyrone E. Nelson)
3-15 Approved	Resolution - Establishment of Dates, Times and Location of Regular Meetings of the Board of Supervisors for 2015.
4-15 Approved	Resolution – Appointment of Member - Association of Volunteer Rescue Squads. (Tyrone E. Nelson)
5-15 Approved	Resolution – Appointment of Members – Board of Building Code Appeals. (Mark J. Hourigan and Robert F. Nelson, Jr.)
6-15 Approved	Resolution - Appointment of Members - Board of Real Estate Review and Equalization. (William N. Jacobs; Sheila C. Epps; John G. Myers, Jr.; John J. Schwartz; and William M. Mackey, Jr.)
7-15 Approved	Resolution - Appointment of Members - Cable Television Advisory Committee. (Margo M. McKnight; Charles M. Sheppard; Joshua M. Dickerson; Samuel B. Straus; and Walter L. Johnson, Jr.)
8-15 Approved	Resolution – Appointment of Member and Alternate – Capital Region Workforce Partnership Consortium. (Frank J. Thornton and Jane D. Crawley)

9-15 Approved Resolution – Appointment of Members and Alternates – Central Virginia Waste Management Authority Board of Directors. (Marcia E. Kelley, J. Allen Lane, Robert C. Whiteman, William I. Mawyer, Arthur D. Petrini, and Jonathan R. Clary)

10-15 Approved Resolution – Appointment of Persons Eligible to Serve as Third Member of Employee Grievance Panels. (Clyde L. Hughes, Jr.; William E. Lowe; Stanley M. Booker, Sr.; Alexander L. Taylor, Jr.; Rowland W. Dwyer, Jr.; John B. Wake, Jr.; Carlos L. Chacon, Jr.; and Erika H. Moseley)

11-15 Approved Resolution – Appointment of Members – Henrico Area Mental Health and Developmental Services Board. (Mark E. Johnson; Molly E. Shurm; and James E. Cox, Jr.)

12-15 Approved Resolution – Appointment of Members – Henrico County Planning Commission. (Robert H. Witte, Jr.; Chris W. Archer; Thomas M. Branin; Bonnie-Leigh Jones; Eric S. Leabough; and Patricia S. O'Bannon)

13-15 Approved Resolution - Appointment of Members - Keep Henrico Beautiful Committee. (Lynne M. Yurchak, Marian J. Martin, Brian S. Montgomery, James R. Barrett, Norma B. Harris, and John H. Weaver)

14-15 Approved Resolution - Appointment of Members - Library Advisory Board. (Gloria L. Wilkerson, Harmohinder P. Singh-Sandhu, Gregory M. Clay, Ormonde D. Wilkinson, and Gail A. Atkins)

15-15 Approved Resolution – Nomination of Members – Local Emergency Planning Committee. (Warren A. Winner; James R. Harris, Sr.; David B. Coldren; Nelson Wikstrom; Kristen B. Schnurman; Patricia S. O'Bannon; Stephen L. Weis; John T. Tatum; Anna M. McRay; Gerald L. Roberts, Jr.; K. Wade Collins; Jonathan R. Clary; Steven J. Yob; Bernard J. Logan; Christopher S. Alberta; and Tamra R. McKinney)

16-15 Approved Resolution – Appointment of Member – Maymont Foundation Board of Directors. (Frank J. Thornton)

17-14 Approved Resolution - Appointment of Members - Parks and Recreation Advisory Commission. (Sandra M. Marshall and Frank J. Thornton)

18-15 Approved Resolution - Resignation of Member - Richmond Region Tourism Board of Directors. (Karen S. Coltrane)

19-15 Approved	Resolution – Appointment of Members – Richmond Region Tourism Board of Directors. (Brenda H. HuYoung and Louis R. Dean)
20-15 Approved	Resolution – Appointment of Members – Richmond Regional Planning District Commission. (Robert H. Witte, Jr.; and James T. Hancock)
21-15 Approved	Resolution – Appointment of Members – Richmond Regional Transportation Planning Organization Citizens Transportation Advisory Committee. (James D. Jamison)
22-15 Approved	Resolution – Appointment of Representatives and Alternate – Richmond Regional Transportation Planning Organization Policy Board. (Patricia S. O'Bannon, Frank J. Thornton, and David A. Kaechele)
23-15 Approved	Resolution – Resignation of Member – The Cultural Arts Center at Glen Allen Foundation Board of Directors. (Scott A. Garka)
24-15 Approved	Resolution - Appointment of Members - Transportation Safety Commission. (James D. Jamison; Marvin R. Tart, Sr.; Alka Dhakar; R. Edward Rhodes, Jr.; Walter L. Johnson, Jr.; Douglas A. Middleton; and Tyrone E. Nelson)

## **PUBLIC COMMENTS**

There were no comments from the public.