#### **Board of Supervisors**

Patricia S. O<sup>\*</sup>Bannon, Chairman Frank J. Thornton, Vice Chairman Richard W. Glover David A. Kaechele Tyrone E. Nelson

**County Manager**John A. Vithoulkas

# Supervisors' Agend-O-Gram



Published by the Henrico County Manager's Office

## Summary of Actions Taken by the Board on June 24, 2014

Mrs. O'Bannon led recitation of the Pledge of Allegiance.

The Reverend Dr. James L. Sailes, Pastor of Antioch Baptist Church, delivered the invocation.

The Board approved the minutes of the June 10, 2014, Regular Meeting.

#### **MANAGER'S COMMENTS**

Last month, Henrico Police Officer Dustin Eddington received the National Alliance for Mental Illness (NAMI) Officer of the Year Award and was named the 2014 Crisis Intervention Trainer (CIT) of the Year by the Virginia Crisis Intervention Team (VACIT) Coalition. The Virginia CIT Conference was held this year at the Hilton Hotel in Short Pump. Officer Eddington has been an employee with the Division of Police since May 2005, where he serves as a Community Outreach Officer in the Community Services Section, the lead CIT instructor, and a member of the Negotiations Team. CIT training identifies the potential for mental illness within individuals and allows police officers to react appropriately. Mr. Vithoulkas recognized and thanked Officer Eddington, who was joined by Police Chief Doug Middleton.

#### **BOARD OF SUPERVISORS' COMMENTS**

Mrs. O'Bannon recognized Alex Marchetti from Boy Scout Troop 1893, sponsored by St. Edward the Confessor Catholic Church, who was observing the meeting to fulfill a requirement for the Communications Merit Badge. Mr. Glover noted Alex has just received his Life rank and begun work on his Eagle rank.

#### RECOGNITION OF NEWS MEDIA

Mrs. O'Bannon recognized Laura Kebede from the Richmond Times-Dispatch.

#### **PRESENTATIONS**

Lou Dean, Vice Chairperson of the Keep Henrico Beautiful Committee, was joined by members of the Board of Supervisors and the following committee members in presenting

"Proud of Our Progress; Excited About Our Future."

awards for exemplary residential and commercial properties: Juli Ashey; Nancy Bruce, Secretary; Elaine Burton; Jill Finnie; Brian Montgomery; and Jeanie Robinson. The following residents received Land Lover Awards: Linda Stephens (Brookland); Valerie Dingle (Fairfield); Marilyn Wayland (Three Chopt); and Debbie and Doyle Deaton (Varina). Allyn and Cheryl Janney (Tuckahoe) were not in attendance but were also recognized as Land Lover Award winners. The following businesses received Clean Business Awards: Goodwill Industries (Brookland), represented by Jocelyn Trimiew, District Manager, and Lisa Bullard, Store Manager; Wawa (Three Chopt), represented by Monica McKenney, Store Manager; Bon Secours Medical Facility at Reynolds Crossing (Tuckahoe), represented by Kevin Barr, Chief Executive Officer for Bon Secours Virginia Ambulatory Services, and Randy Reynolds, Sr., Principal with Reynolds Development; and Kingsland Reach Marina, represented by owners Michaele and Henry Upshur. Strange's Florist (Fairfield) did not have representatives in attendance but was recognized as a Clean Business Award winner.

#### APPOINTMENTS/RESIGNATIONS

163-14 Approved	Resolution - Appointment of Member - Board of Social Services. (Michelle R. Henderson)
164-14 Approved	Resolution - Appointment of Member - Capital Region Airport Commission. (Tyrone E. Nelson)
165-14 Approved	Resolution - Appointment of Members - Community Criminal Justice Board. (Jane D. Crawley; Richard S. Wallerstein, Jr.; G. Barton Chucker; Randall G. Johnson, Jr.; Yvette A. Via; Douglas A. Middleton; Shannon L. Taylor; William J. Viverett; Michael L. Wade; Mac R. Beaton; Laura S. Totty; Charles E. Jordan; William M. Gibson; Marcus B. McGahee; Rajendra P. Raval; and James L. Sailes)
166-14 Approved	Resolution - Appointment of Member - Greater Richmond Partnership Board of Directors. (Patricia S. O'Bannon)
167-14 Approved	Resolution - Resignation of Member - Henrico Area Mental Health & Developmental Services Board. (Evelyn O. Dodge)
168-14 Approved	Resolution - Appointment of Members - J. Sargeant Reynolds Community College Board. (Goldie W. Settles)
169-14 Approved	Resolution - Resignation of Member - Richmond Metropolitan Authority Board of Directors. (David A. Brat)

"Proud of Our Progress; Excited About Our Future."

170-14 Approved Resolution - Appointment of Members - Richmond Metropolitan Transportation Authority Board of Directors. (Harvey L. Hinson; Marvin R. Tart, Sr.; Tyrone E. Nelson; Virgil R. Hazelett; and Bryan E. Kornblau)

171-14 Approved Resolution - Resignation of Member - The Cultural Arts Center at Glen Allen Foundation Board of Directors. (Elizabeth C. Brogan)

172-14 Approved Resolution - Appointment of Members - The Cultural Arts Center at Glen Allen Foundation Board of Directors. (Scott A. Garka; Scott K. Hammer; Michael E. Klein; Juanita B. Leatherberry; Rugene S. Paulette; Jaspreet G. Pahwa; and Peter N. Thacker, Jr.)

173-14 Approved Resolution - Appointment of Members and Alternates - Virginia Transit Association Board of Directors. (David A. Kaechele; Tyrone E. Nelson; Steven J. Yob; and E. Todd Eure)

### **PUBLIC HEARING ITEMS**

174-14 Approved Resolution - Authorizing the County Manager to Submit the Henrico County 2014-15 Annual Consolidated Plan, Including the CDBG, HOME and ESG Plans for Fiscal Year 2014-15; to Execute the CDBG, HOME and ESG Agreements for Fiscal Year 2014-15; and to Execute Contracts to Implement the CDBG, HOME and ESG Activities.

175-14 Approved Resolution - Signatory Authority - Exchange of Real Property - Kain Road - Three Chopt District.

176-14 Approved Resolution - Signatory Authority - Quitclaim of Parcel - Relocated Gaskins Road - Tuckahoe District.

177-14 Approved Ordinance - To Amend and Reordain Section 17-1 Titled "Definitions," Section 17-23 Titled "Use generally," Section 17-24 Titled "Disposal of certain substances prohibited," Section 17-25 Titled "Dumping waste on premises other than sanitary landfills," and Section 17-58 Titled "Charges" of the Code of the County of Henrico, and to Change the Title of Article II of Chapter 17 From "Sanitary Landfills" to "County Household Refuse Disposal Areas," All to Reflect the Closing of the Springfield Road Landfill and to Change Requirements for County Refuse Disposal.

<sup>&</sup>quot;Proud of Our Progress; Excited About Our Future."

# **PUBLIC COMMENTS**

There were no comments from the public.

# GENERAL AGENDA

178-14 Approved	Resolution - Appropriation of Funds for Fiscal Year 2014-15.
179-14 Approved	Resolution - Award of Construction Contract - Libbie Mill Library - Brookland District.
180-14 Approved	Resolution - Award of Contract - Engineering Design Services - Wilkinson Road Bridge - Fairfield District.

"Proud of Our Progress; Excited About Our Future."