Board of Supervisors

Patricia S. O Bannon, Chairman Frank J. Thornton, Vice Chairman Richard W. Glover David A. Kaechele Tyrone E. Nelson

County ManagerJohn A. Vithoulkas

Supervisors' Agend-O-Gram



Published by the Henrico County Manager's Office

Summary of Actions Taken by the Board on January 14, 2014

Mr. Kaechele led recitation of the Pledge of Allegiance and a moment of silent prayer.

The Board approved the minutes of the December 10, 2013, Regular and Special Meetings.

MANAGER'S COMMENTS

The County is deeply saddened by the unexpected death of Assistant County Attorney Ben Thorp. The County Attorney's Office received word of his death on the morning of January 14. Mr. Thorp was hired by the County on March 3, 2008, after working in private practice for a number of years. A proud Hokie and graduate of the University of Richmond Law School, Mr. Thorp was instrumental in revising the County's noise ordinance and was part of the legal team that won the U. S. Supreme Court case *McBurney v. Young* last year. He enjoyed the intricacies of environmental issues and was an expert on administrative processes. Mr. Thorp was a member of the Cobbs Creek Reservoir project team and was assisting staff with the creation of the stormwater management ordinance that the Board will consider in the coming months. The County offers its deepest condolences to Mr. Thorp's wife, Jayne Pemberton, and his young son, Beckett, as well as to the entire County Attorney's Office.

BOARD OF SUPERVISORS' COMMENTS

Mr. Nelson noted that residents in the vicinity of Garland Avenue near Williamsburg Road in the Varina District received a flyer from the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) last week indicating that EPA was going to investigate a possible groundwater contamination of tetrachloroethylene (PCE) in this area. After extending the review area to a 1,000 foot radius around the possibly contaminated site, the County found only two wells that are used for drinking water, both of which tested negative and are deemed safe for use. Although this is an EPA investigation, Mr. Nelson has asked the County Manager to ensure that County officials serve as the liaison between EPA and local residents. To that end, the Henrico Health Department has contacted the residents of the area and begun door-to-door surveys of the property owners to ensure there are no other wells being used near this site. Most of the residents in Sandston are connected to the County water system and are not affected by this

issue, but the County will continue to work with EPA and the Virginia Department of Environmental Quality to ensure that the safety of Sandston residents remains a top priority and concern.

Mr. Kaechele recognized the following Boy Scouts from Troop 720, sponsored by Mount Vernon Baptist Church, who were observing the meeting to fulfill requirements for the Citizenship in the Community and Communications Merit Badges: Brady Blauvelt, Glenn Bohlman, Nathaniel Cobbs, Hayden Davis, Patrick Finley, Michael Harris, A.J. Johnson, Max Raderer, and Ben Tharakan.

RECOGNITION OF NEWS MEDIA

Mr. Kaechele recognized Ted Strong from the Richmond Times-Dispatch.

APPOINTMENTS/RESIGNATION/ORGANIZATIONAL ITEMS

1-14 Approved	Resolution - Election of Chairman. (Patricia S. O'Bannon)
2-14 Approved	Resolution - Election of Vice Chairman. (Frank J. Thornton)
3-14 Approved	Resolution - Establishment of Dates, Times and Location of Regular Meetings of the Board of Supervisors for 2014.
4-14 Approved	Resolution – Appointment of Member - Association of Volunteer Rescue Squads. (Tyrone E. Nelson)
5-14 Approved	Resolution – Appointment of Members – Board of Building Code Appeals. (Steven A. Foster; R. Sydnor Reames; Joseph M. Kelleher, Jr.; and Robert T. Royster)
6-14 Approved	Resolution - Appointment of Members - Board of Real Estate Review and Equalization. (William N. Jacobs; Sheila C. Epps; John G. Myers, Jr.; John J. Schwartz; and William M. Mackey, Jr.)
7-14 Approved	Resolution - Appointment of Members - Cable Television Advisory Committee. (Herbert L. Dunford, Jr.; Joshua M. Dickerson; Samuel B. Straus; and Walter L. Johnson, Jr.)
8-14 Approved	Resolution – Appointment of Member and Alternate – Capital Region Workforce Partnership Consortium. (Patricia S. O'Bannon and Jane D. Crawley)

P-14 Resolution – Appointment of Persons Eligible to Serve as Third Member of Employee Grievance Panels. (Clyde L. Hughes, Jr.; John E. McDonald, Jr.; Alexander L. Taylor, Jr.; Rowland W. Dwyer, Jr.; John B. Wake, Jr.; Carlos L. Chacon, Jr.; and Erika H. Moseley)
10-14 Resolution – Appointment of Members – Henrico Area Mental Health and

Approved

Developmental Services Board. (Wanetta J. Grignol; Jessica Young

11-14 Resolution – Appointment of Members – Henrico County Planning Approved Commission. (Robert H. Witte, Jr.; Chris W. Archer; Thomas M. Branin; Bonnie-Leigh Jones; Eric S. Leabough; and David A. Kaechele)

Brown; Evelyn O. Dodge; and Kathyrn M. Merritt)

ApprovedResolution - Appointment of Members - Historic Preservation Advisory
Committee. (Sarah W. Pace; Robin D. Smith; Vee J. Davis; Charlotte W. Melton; John E. McDonald, Jr.; G. Norwood Nuckols, Jr.; Beverley H. Davis; Charlie S. Rappold; Jeanne E. McNeil; and Henry L. Nelson, Jr.)

13-14 Resolution – Appointment of Member – John Tyler Alcohol Safety Action Approved Program Policy Board. (George Barton Chucker)

14-14 Resolution - Appointment of Members - Keep Henrico Beautiful Committee.

Approved (Jill L. Finnie; Elaine L. Burton; Ram K. Pai; Jeanie V. Robinson; Juli N. Ashey; Nancy T. Bruce; Bland S. Goddin; and Priscilla W. Woods)

15-14 Resolution - Appointment of Members - Library Advisory Board. (Gloria L. Wilkerson; Harmohinder P. Singh-Sandhu; Gregory M. Clay; Ormonde D. Wilkinson; and Gail A. Atkins)

16-14 Resolution – Appointment of Member – Maymont Foundation Board of **Approved** Directors. (Frank J. Thornton)

17-14 Resolution - Appointment of Members - Parks and Recreation Advisory **Approved** Commission. (Raiford F. Beasley; Joseph L. Coleman, Jr.; Joshua M. Dickerson; John A. Ficklin; Thurgood O. Ampey; and Tyrone E. Nelson)

18-14 Resolution – Appointment of Members and Alternates – Richmond Area **Approved** Metropolitan Planning Organization. (Patricia S. O'Bannon; Frank J. Thornton; E. Todd Eure; Jean M. Moore; Ralph J. Emerson, Jr.; and Steven J. Yob)

19-14 Resolution – Appointment of Member – Richmond Region Tourism Board of **Approved** Directors. (Karen S. Coltrane)

20-14 Approved	Resolution – Appointment of Member – Richmond Regional Planning District Commission. (Eric S. Leabough)
21-14 Approved	Resolution - Nomination of Member - Stadium Operating Committee of the Richmond Metropolitan Authority. (Tyrone E. Nelson)
22-14 Approved	Resolution – Resignation of Member – The Cultural Arts Center at Glen Allen Foundation Board of Directors. (Kanwar B. Singh)
23-14 Approved	Resolution - Appointment of Members - Transportation Safety Commission. (Marilyn J. Blake; Marvin R. Tart, Sr.; Alka Dhakar; R. Edward Rhodes, Jr.; Walter L. Johnson, Jr.; Douglas A. Middleton; and Tyrone E. Nelson)

PUBLIC COMMENTS

Raiford Beasley, a resident of the Brookland District, thanked the Division of Police for its swift and outstanding response to a recent incident at Glen Allen High School and for allaying the concerns and fears of parents.

William Spencer, a resident of the Three Chopt District, complimented the County Manager and Chief of Police, offered personal anecdotes, and stressed the importance of educating the County's young people and sitting at the table with them.
