Board of Supervisors David A. Kaechele, Chairman Patricia S. O'Bannon, Vice-Chairman James B. Donati, Jr. Richard W. Glover Frank J. Thornton

County Manager

Virgil R. Hazelett, P.E.





Summary of Actions Taken by the Board on January 8, 2008

Mr. Donati led the Board, staff, and public in reciting the Pledge of Allegiance.

Dr. W. Fred Rose, Pastor, Tuckahoe Presbyterian Church, provided the invocation.

The Board approved the minutes of the December 11, 2007 Regular and Special Meetings and November 29, 2007 Special Meeting.

MANAGER'S COMMENTS

On December 11, 2007, the Board of Supervisors authorized the third of seven sales of General Obligation bonds arising from the March 2005 Bond Referendum. The proceeds from this particular issuance of \$30.8 million will fund school facilities and fire stations. Prior to the actual sale of the bonds, the County's "Triple – Triple A" General Obligation Bond ratings were reaffirmed after a review by the nation's three independent bond rating agencies (Fitch, Moody's, and Standard and Poor's). Only 21 of 3,033 counties nationwide possess these ratings, which offer significant savings to the County's taxpayers and are one of the key components that are looked at by corporate entities when they consider where to locate their facilities. Mr. Hazelett congratulated John A. Vithoulkas in his new position as Director of Finance and his staff for all of their efforts towards making Henrico County better than 99.3 percent of the nation's counties.

Mr. Hazelett recognized several members of his family who were seated in the audience, including his wife, Shardale Hazelett; his sister, Rebecca Killinger; and his sister's husband, Brit Killinger.

BOARD OF SUPERVISORS' COMMENTS

Mr. Thornton complimented the Department of Public Works for putting up a facility so citizens can continue using Wilkinson Road while its deteriorated pavement is being repaired.

Mr. Kaechele thanked Dr. Rose for being present and for his encouraging words during the invocation. He noted that Dr. Rose is a great asset to the community and to the members of Tuckahoe Presbyterian Church and has previously served on the County's Board of Social Services.

RECOGNITION OF NEWS MEDIA

Mr. Donati recognized Will Jones of the Richmond Times-Dispatch.

APPOINTMENTS/ORGANIZATIONAL ITEMS

1-08 Approved	Resolution electing David A. Kaechele as Chairman.
2-08 Approved	Resolution electing Patricia S. O'Bannon as Vice-Chairman.
3-08 Approved	Resolution for Establishment of Dates, Times and Location of Regular Meetings of the Board of Supervisors for 2008.
4-08 Approved	Resolution appointing Frank J. Thornton to the Association of Volunteer Rescue Squads.
5-08 Approved	Resolution appointing Sheila C. Epps, John G. Myers, Jr., John J. Schwartz, and Ronald L. Carey to the Board of Real Estate Review and Equalization.
6-08 Approved	Resolution appointing Richard W. Glover to the Board of Social Services.
7-08 Approved	Resolution appointing Herbert L. Dunford, Jr., Joshua M. Dickerson, and Samuel B. Straus to the Cable Television Advisory Committee.
8-08 Approved	Resolution appointing James B. Donati, Jr., David A. Kaechele, Robert M. Atack, and Thomas E. Pruitt to the Capital Region Airport Commission.
9-08 Approved	Resolution appointing Beth B. Tetrault to the Chickahominy Disability Services Board.
10-08 Approved	Resolution appointing Edward F. Steiner to the Economic Development Authority Board of Directors.
11-08 Approved	Resolution appointing Clyde L. Hughes, Jr., Grant L. Moffett, John E. McDonald, Jr., Alexander L. Taylor, Jr., Rowland W. Dwyer, Jr., John B. Wake, Jr., D. ThomasDoub, and Robert T. Royster as Persons Eligible to Serve as Third Member of Employee Grievance Panels.
12-08 Approved	Resolution appointing Valerie M. Bell, Beverly L. Hale-Cocke, Vee J. Davis, Charlotte W. Melton, G. Norwood Nuckols, Jr., John E. McDonald, Jr., Beverley H. Davis, Courtney S. Hunt, Richard C. McNeil, and Henry L. Nelson, Jr. to the Historic Preservation Advisory Committee.
13-08 Approved	Resolution appointing Christina M. Harris, Elaine L. Burton, Cynthia T. Funk, Linda B. Turner, and Brian S. Montgomery to the Keep Henrico Beautiful Committee.
14-08 Approved	Resolution appointing Gloria L. Wilkerson, Harmohinder P. Singh-Sandhu, Gregory M. Clay, Anne D. Sterling, and Gail A. Atkins to the Library Advisory Board.
15-08 Approved	Resolution appointing James B. Donati, Jr. to the Maymont Foundation Board of Directors.
16-08 Approved	Resolution appointing Karen W. Grizzard, Evelyn O. Dodge, Thomas J. Kirkup, Tessie F. Greene, and John W. Keating to the Henrico Area Mental Health and Retardation Services Board.
17-08	Resolution appointing Raiford F. Beasley, Joseph L. Coleman, Jr., Tracy L. Whitley,

Approved	Faye A. Ould, Thurgood O. Ampey, and Frank J. Thornton to the Parks and Recreation Advisory Commission.
18-08 Approved	Resolution appointing Ernest B. Vanarsdall, Chris W. Archer, Thomas M. Branin, Bonnie-Leigh Jones, E. Ray Jernigan, and Richard W. Glover to the Henrico County Planning Commission.
19-08 Approved	Resolution appointing Frank J. Thornton, Patricia S. O'Bannon, E. Todd Eure and Ralph J. Emerson, Jr. as members, and Edward L. Priestas as an alternate member of the Richmond Area Metropolitan Planning Organization.
20-08 Approved	Resolution nominating David A. Kaechele to the Stadium Operating Committee of the Richmond Metropolitan Authority.
21-08 Approved	Resolution appointing Barbara R. Steverson to the Richmond Metropolitan Convention & Visitors Bureau Board of Directors.
22-08 Approved	Resolution appointing James B. Donati, Jr., Richard W. Glover, David A. Kaechele, Patricia S. O'Bannon, Frank J. Thornton, E. Ray Jernigan, and Randall R. Silber to the Richmond Regional Planning District Commission.
23-08 Approved	Resolution appointing J. Stephen Lindsey and Felicia M. Perry to the Board of the Short Pump Town Center Community Development Authority.
24-08 Approved	Resolution appointing George J. Haudricourt, Jr., Marvin R. Tart, Sr., James M. Tyler, III, Marvin L. Ulmer, Phillis Ladd Blackwell, Maj. Stephen F. Alloway, and Patricia S. O'Bannon to the Transportation Safety Commission.

PUBLIC HEARING ITEMS

25-08 Ordinance to Amend and Reordain Section 23-231 Titled "Authority of county Approved manager," Section 23-232 Titled "Use of water during water emergency," Section 23-233 Titled "Notice of declaration of water emergency," and Section 23-234 Titled "Reserved" of the Code of the County of Henrico to Permit Mandatory Restrictions on the Use of Water From the County's Public Water System Under Certain Conditions and to Establish Penalties for Violations.

26-08 Ordinance to Participate in the John Tyler Alcohol Safety Action Program.

Approved

GENERAL AGENDA

27-08	Resolution appointing the Honorable Archer L. Yeatts, III to the John Tyler Alcohol
Approved	Safety Action Program Board of Directors.

Proud of Our Progress; Excited About Our Future.