Board of Supervisors
Frank J. Thornton,
Chairman
Richard W. Glover, ViceChairman
James B. Donati, Jr.
David A. Kaechele
Patricia S. O'Bannon

<u>County Manager</u> Virgil R. Hazelett, P.E.

Supervisors' Agend-O-Gram

Published by the Henrico County Manager's Office



Summary of Actions Taken by the Board on June 28, 2005

Mr. Thornton led the Board, staff, and public in reciting the Pledge of Allegiance.

Chaplain Thomas Wooden provided the invocation.

The minutes of the June 14, 2005 Regular Meeting were approved.

MANAGER'S COMMENTS

Mr. Hazelett announced that Mrs. O'Bannon was in Germany as part of a National Association of Counties fact-finding delegation that is examining magnetic levitation high-speed train operations.

On June 13, 2005, Chief Justice Leroy Hassell of the Virginia Supreme Court appointed Assistant County Attorney Rhysa South to the Virginia State Bar Disciplinary Board for a three-year term beginning July 1, 2005 and ending June 30, 2008. Composed of 16 lawyers and 4 lay members, the Disciplinary Board adjudicates charges of misconduct and impairment filed against attorneys practicing throughout the Commonwealth of Virginia. The Disciplinary Board hears appeals from the 17 statewide District Committees and also conducts initial trials in cases where the alleged misconduct would left suspension or revocation of an attorney's license to practice law.

On June 16, 2005, the Council of the Virginia State Bar appointed County Attorney Joseph P. Rapisarda, Jr. to a three-year term on the Third District Committee. Composed of seven lawyers and three lay members, the Committee acts as a trial court when determining charges alleging attorney misconduct in the jurisdictions of Henrico, Richmond, Chesterfield, Dinwiddie, and Suffolk.

BOARD OF SUPERVISORS' COMMENTS

Mr. Thornton recognized the following Boy Scouts from Troop 715, sponsored by Three Chopt Presbyterian Church, who were observing the meeting to fulfill a requirement for the Citizenship in the Community Merit Badge: Bobby Efird, Bryce Praught, Josh Warren, Jeff Wilson, and Michael Wilson.

PRESENTATION

Virginia Roane, Chairperson of the Keep Henrico Beautiful Awards Subcommittee, was joined by members of the Board of Supervisors and the following members of the Keep Henrico Beautiful Committee in recognizing selected Henrico County residents and businesses for their beautification projects: Chris Harris, Chairperson; Lynne Smolin-Yurchak, Vice-Chairperson; M. J. Cline; and Doris Davis. Land Lover Awards were presented to the following residents: Diane Horvath (Brookland), Gladys Barrett (Fairfield), Tom and Beverly Shaub (Three Chopt), and Shirley Madden (Varina). Dennis King (Tuckahoe), who was not in attendance, was also a Land Lover Award recipient. Clean Business Awards were presented to the following businesses: Sheraton Richmond West Hotel (Brookland), represented by John Judd, Director of Operations, and George Remner, Chief Engineer; Virginia Press Association (Three Chopt), represented by Ginger Stanley, Executive Director, and David Cole, President; and Citizens and Farmers Bank, Sandston Branch (Varina), represented by Kitty Buckner, Branch Manager. Dankos, Gordon & Whitlock, P.C. (Fairfield) and Aspen Gayton Terrace (Tuckahoe), which did not have representatives in attendance, were also Clean Business Award recipients.

APPOINTMENTS/RESIGNATION

180-05

Approved

Resolution appointing Lynne M. Yurchak and David Goodall, Sr. to the Board of Social Services.

181-05

Approved

Resolution appointing Grant L. Moffett and Walter H. Ryland to the Capital Region Arts and Cultural Funding Consortium Board of Directors.

182-05

Approved

Resolution appointing George T. Drumwright, Jr., Gary A. Hicks, John Marshall, A. Elisabeth Oxenham, John E. Mehfoud, Henry W. Stanley, Jr., Wade A. Kizer, Matthew P. Geary, Michael L. Wade, Mac R. Beaton, Brendan T. Hayes, Frederick D. Goodwin, III, Grant L. Moffett, William M. Gibson, Donald L. Boswell, J. Douglas Freeman, and Deborah G. LaVecchia to the Community Criminal Justice Board.

183-05

Approved

Resolution appointing David A. Kaechele to the Greater Richmond Partnership Board of Directors.

184-05

Approved

Resolution appointing James B. Donati, Jr., William E. Lowe, Gregory M. Clay, James H. Atkinson, Jr., Oliver L. Way, and Leonard C. Cake as members of the James River Development Corporation; and nominating James B. Donati, Jr. and William E. Lowe as directors of the James River Development Corporation.

185-05

Approved

Resolution accepting the resignation of David Goodall, Sr. from the Parks and Recreation Advisory Commission.

186-05

Approved

Resolution appointing Joseph L. Coleman, Jr. to the Parks and Recreation Advisory Commission.

187-05

Approved

Resolution appointing Christopher D. Lloyd, Barbara R. Steverson, Francis L. Robinson, and David A. Stosch to the Richmond Metropolitan Convention & Visitors Bureau Board of Directors.

188-05

Approved

Resolution appointing James B. Donati, Jr. and David A. Kaechele as members, and E. Todd Eure and Robert C. Thompson as alternate members of the Virginia Transit Association Board of Directors.

PUBLIC HEARING ITEMS

189-05

Approved

Resolution Authorizing the County Manager to Submit the Henrico 2005-06 Annual Consolidated Plan, Including the 2005-06 CDBG Program Year Sixteen Plan and the 2005-06 HOME Program Year Nine Plan; to Execute the CDBG Agreement for Program Year Sixteen and the HOME Agreement for Program Year Nine; and to Execute Contracts to Implement the CDBG and HOME Program Activities.

190-05

Approved

Resolution for Signatory Authority for Lease of Property at 8611 Dixon Powers Drive, located in the Brookland District.

GENERAL AGENDA

191-05

Approved

Resolution for Authorization to Accept Title I Workforce Investment Act (WIA) Grant Funds from the Virginia Employment Commission and Execute Grant Agreement.

192-05

Approved

Resolution for Appropriation of Funds for Fiscal Year 2005-06.

193-05 Approved

Resolution for Award of Contract for Architectural and Engineering Services for the ThreeLakes Nature Center.

194-05 Approved

Resolution for Henrico Juvenile Detention Home Medical Services Contract.

195-05 Approved

Resolution for Award of Contract for Annual Engineering Services for Water Reclamation Facility to Hazen and Sawyer, P.C.

196-05 Approved

Resolution for Signatory Authority for Award of Construction Contract for Springfield Road Landfill Office Addition, Project No. 563130.

197-05

Approved

Resolution for Award of Construction Contract for Tuckahoe Park Drainage Improvements, Phase I from Rudolph Road to Outfall (approximately 1,280 feet). Project #502005-704-306-03, located in the Three Chopt District.

Proud of Our Progress; Excited About Our Future.