Board of Supervisors
David A. Kaechele,
Chairman
Patricia S. O'Bannon, ViceChairman
James B. Donati, Jr.
Richard W. Glover
Frank J. Thornton





<u>County Manager</u> Virgil R. Hazelett, P.E.

Summary of Actions Taken by the Board on Jaunuary 14, 2003

Reverend Dr. W. Fred Rose, Pastor, Tuckahoe Presbyterian Church, provided the invocation.

The minutes of the December 10, 2002 Regular and Special Meetings were approved.

MANAGER'S COMMENTS

All three of the national credit rating agencies have reaffirmed the County's triple A credit rating and assigned a triple A rating to the \$107.5 million General Obligation Bond Issue sold on January 14, 2003. The true interest cost rate for these bonds will be 3.59%.

PUBLIC COMMENTS

Cheryl Deutsch, a resident of the Three Chopt District and student representative of Douglas S. Freeman High School's Friends of the Earth Club, expressed concerns about the rate of growth in Henrico County and reiterated her organization's support of a Purchase of Development Rights (PDR) program to preserve open space in the Varina District.

BOARD OF SUPERVISORS' COMMENTS

Mr. Kaechele noted that he and Mrs. O'Bannon had attended a banquet on January 4, 2003 for the installation of officers for the Tuckahoe Volunteer Rescue Squad. He saluted the organization on its 49 years of operation and pointed out that its volunteer members had responded to 6,000 calls during 2002 representing 80,000 hours of service to the community.

Mrs. O'Bannon asked for moment of silence in remembrance of Henrico County Police Officer Andre Gerard Booker, who was fatally injured in a car accident on January 12, 2003. Mr. Hazelett announced that a memorial service for Officer Booker would be held on January 15, 2003 at the West End Assembly of God.

Mr. Donati recognized Dr. Nelson Wikstrom, who is authoring a book on the history of the county manager form of government in Henrico.

Mrs. O'Bannon recognized Brian Imburge from Boy Scout Troop 417, sponsored by Temple Beth El School on North Parham Road.

RECOGNITION OF NEWS MEDIA

Mr. Donati recognized the presence of Tom Lappas of the *Henrico Citizen*, Chris Dovi of the *Richmond Times-Dispatch*, and Jonathan Spiers of the *Henrico Leader*.

PRESENTATION

Mr. Kaechele presented a proclamation recognizing January 19 - 25, 2003 as Henrico Jaycee Week. Accepting the proclamation were Denise Schnabel, President of the West End Jaycees, and Kay Faries, President of the Tuckahoe Jaycees.

APPOINTMENTS/ORGANIZATIONAL ITEMS

Approved

Approved Resolution electing David A. Kaechele as Chairman. Approved Resolution electing Patricia S. O'Bannon as Vice-Chairman. Resolution for Establishment of Dates, Time and Location of Regular Meetings of the Approved Board of Supervisors for 2003. **Approved** Resolution appointing David A. Kaechele to the Association of Volunteer Rescue Squads. Approved Resolution appointing Herbert L. Dunford, Jr., Thomas M. Branin, and Samuel B. Straus to the Cable Television Advisory Committee. **Approved** Resolution appointing William S. Dewhirst, Robert C. Whiteman and Marcia E. Kelly as members, and Steven J. Yob, Arthur D. Petrini, and William I. Mawyer as alternates, to the Central Virginia Waste Management Authority Board of Directors. Resolution appointing Jesse R. Evans, Jr. to the Charles City, Hanover, Henrico, and New Approved Kent Disability Services Board. **Approved** Resolution appointing Clyde L. Hughes, Jr., Grant L. Moffett, John Marshall, John E. McDonald, Jr., Rowland W. Dwyer, Jr., John B. Wake, Jr., D. Thomas Doub, and Robert T. Royster as Persons Eligible to Serve as Third Member of Employee Grievance Panels. Resolution appointing Beverly L. Hale, John A. Szeker, Vee J. Davis, Warner M. Jones, **Approved** Sr., G. Norwood Nuckols, Jr., Margaret M. Thistlethwaite, Beverley H. Davis, Courtney S. Hunt, Richard C. McNeil, and Henry L. Nelson, Jr. to the Historic Preservation Advisory Committee. **Approved** Resolution appointing Virginia M. Martin, Lynne M. Yurchak, Sheila C. Epps, Sharon Francisco, Wilson L. Harrison, Jr., Sue R. Linhart, Elizabeth H. Holmes, and Jeremy H. Rowan to the Keep Henrico Beautiful Committee. **Approved** Resolution appointing James A. Martin, Harmohinder P. Singh-Sandhu, Ann M. Kutz, Anne D. Sterling, and Joyce S. Pittman to the Library Advisory Board. Approved Resolution nominating Warren A. Winner, William A. Gray, Alan L. Thurman, Wilmer N. Stoneman III, Patricia S. O'Bannon, Sheriff Michael L. Wade, George K. Thomas, Capt. William M. Cox, Capt. C. Lester Jones, Jr., Capt. Lewis E. Shaw, Jr., Richard H. "Chip" Decker, III, SMSgt William G. Leonard, Steven M. DeLisi, Gregory F. Britt, Nancy B. Stills, Dave H. Fore, Sue H. Kerr, William F. Renz, Tamra R. McKinney, and James L. Jacobs for appointment to the Local Emergency Planning Committee.

Resolution appointing James B. Donati, Jr. to the Maymont Foundation Board of

Directors.

Approved Resolution appointing Doris H. Roberts and George H. Hettrick to the Henrico Area

Mental Health and Retardation Services Board.

Approved Resolution appointing Patricia S. O'Bannon, Frank J. Thornton, E. Todd Eure, and

Randall R. Silber as members, and John R. Marlles and Robert C. Thompson as alternates

to the Richmond Area Metropolitan Planning Organization.

Approved Resolution appointing Robert L. Basham, Jr. to the Richmond Area Metropolitan

Planning Organization Citizens Transportation Advisory Committee.

Approved Resolution appointing Alice L. Schulz, Faye A. Ould, and Frank J. Thornton to the Parks

and Recreation Advisory Commission.

Approved Resolution appointing Ernest B. Vanarsdall, Chris W. Archer, Allen J. Taylor, Lisa D.

Ware, E. Ray Jernigan, and Richard W. Glover to the Henrico County Planning

Commission.

Approved Resolution nominating David A. Kaechele to the Stadium Operating Committee of the

Richmond Metropolitan Authority.

Approved Resolution accepting the resignation of Dale A. Kaetzel from the Richmond Metropolitan

Convention & Visitors Bureau Board of Directors.

Approved Resolution appointing Douglas S. Fritz to the Richmond Metropolitan Convention &

Visitors Bureau Board of Directors.

Approved Resolution appointing E. Ray Jernigan and Gentry Bell to the Richmond Regional

Planning District Commission.

Approved Resolution appointing Robert J. Hayes, Loren M. Johnson, Zulfiqar M. Khan, James E.

Quinn III, James E. Washok, Jr., Leslie A. Creech, Brian B. Deasy, Janie Y. Hudson, Philip A. Doty, Daniel C. Galloway, Jr., Mindy C. Fast, and Michael T. Shaughnessy to

the Technology Advisory Committee.

Approved Resolution appointing George J. Haudricourt, Jr., Joseph L. Coleman, Jr., James M. Tyler,

III, Marvin L. Ulmer, Deborah G. LaVecchia, Maj. W. Murray Bullock, Jr., and Patricia S.

O'Bannon to the Transportation Safety Commission.

GENERAL AGENDA

Approved Resolution for Award of Contract for Digital Aerial Orthophotography, Planimetric Base

Map and Topographic Update Products and Services.

ADDED BY UNANIMOUS CONSENT

Approved	Signatory Authority for Acquisition of Real Property at 8610 Staples Mill Road, located in the Brookland District.
	Proud of Our Progress; Excited About Our Future.