Board of Supervisors James B. Donati, Jr., Chairman David A. Kaechele, Vice-Chairman Richard W. Glover Patricia S. O'Bannon Frank J. Thornton

<u>County Manager</u> Virgil R. Hazelett, P.E.





Published by the Henrico County Manager's Office

Summary of Actions Taken by the Board on January 8, 2002

Reverend William W. Catlett, Pastor, Poplar Springs Baptist Church, provided the invocation.

The minutes of the December 11, 2001 Regular and Special Meetings, and December 4, 2001 Special Meeting were approved.

BOARD OF SUPERVISORS' COMMENTS

Mrs. O'Bannon recognized Carter Brown, a student at Douglas S. Freeman High School, who was observing the meeting for an Advanced Placement United States History class and taking notes on a school issued I-Book laptop computer.

RECOGNITION OF NEWS MEDIA

Mr. Glover recognized the presence of Chris Dovi of the *Richmond Times-Dispatch*, Angela Hill of the *Henrico County Leader*, and Tom Lappas of the *Henrico Citizen*.

APPOINTMENTS/ORGANIZATIONAL ITEMS

Approved	Resolution appointing James B. Donati, Jr. as Chairman.
Approved	Resolution appointing David A. Kaechele as Vice-Chairman.
Approved	Resolution for Establishment of Dates, Time and Location of Regular Meetings of the Board of Supervisors for 2002.
Approved	Resolution appointing David A. Kaechele to the Association of Volunteer Rescue Squads.
Approved	Resolution appointing Donald L. Strange-Boston and Kurt P. Thompson to the Board of Building Code Appeals.
Approved	Resolution appointing Marilee M. Tretina, Helen E. Harris, H. Preston Harrison, Richard Cocke, and Susan G. Hicks to the Board of Real Estate Review and Equalization.
Approved	Resolution appointing Herbert L. Dunford, Jr., Joyce B. Robinson, Thomas M. Branin, and Samuel B. Straus to the Cable Television Advisory Committee.
Approved	Resolution appointing Beth B. Tetrault to the Charles City, Hanover, Henrico, and New Kent Disability Services Board.
Approved	Resolution appointing Beverly L. Hale, Sue Ella Kirkland, Vee J. Davis, Warner M. Jones, Jr., G. Norwood Nuckols, Jr., Margaret M. Thistlethwaite, Beverley H.

	Davis, Courtney S. Hunt, Richard C. McNeil, and Henry L. Nelson, Jr. to the Historic Preservation Advisory Committee.
Approved	Resolution appointing Doris B. Davis, Christina M. Harris, Virginia T. Roane, Susan O. Hollins, Charles E. Bingley, Jr., Linda E. Ficklin, and Mark J. Richner to the Keep Henrico Beautiful Committee.
Approved	Resolution appointing James A. Martin, Harmohinder P. Singh-Sandhu, Ann M. Kutz, Anne D. Sterling, and Joyce S. Pittman to the Library Advisory Board.
Approved	Resolution appointing James B. Donati, Jr. to the Maymont Foundation Board of Directors.
Approved	Resolution appointing Thomas J. Kirkup, Betty Dale Martin, and Judith D. Layne to the Henrico Area Mental Health and Retardation Services Board.
Approved	Resolution appointing Patricia S. O'Bannon, Frank J. Thornton, Eric B. Millirons, and Randall R. Silber as Members, and John R. Marlles and Robert C. Thompson as Alternates to the Richmond Area Metropolitan Planning Organization.
Approved	Resolution appointing Sandy J. Basham, David Goodall, Sr., Tracy L. Whitley, Judith B. Bailey, and Thomas J. Robinson to the Parks and Recreation Advisory Commission.
Approved	Resolution appointing Ernest B. Vanarsdall, Chris W. Archer, Allen J. Taylor, Lisa D. Ware, E. Ray Jernigan, and Frank J. Thornton to the Henrico County Planning Commission.
Approved	Resolution nominating David A. Kaechele to the Stadium Operating Committee of the Richmond Metropolitan Authority.
Approved	Resolution appointing Chris W. Archer to the Richmond Regional Planning District Commission.
Approved	Resolution appointing Richard W. Glover to the Richmond Regional Planning District Commission Water Resources Task Force.
Approved	Resolution appointing Winfrey T. Wade as Tie Breaker.
Approved	Resolution appointing George J. Haudricourt, Jr., Joseph L. Coleman, Jr., James M. Tyler, III, Marvin L. Ulmer, Deborah G. LaVecchia, W. Murray Bullock, Jr., and Patricia S. O'Bannon to the Transportation Safety Commission.

GENERAL AGENDA

Approved	Supplemental Resolution Supporting Tax Exemption of Property Owned by Instructive Visiting Nurse Association and its Subsidiaries, IVNA Home Health Care and IVNA Health Services.
Approved	Resolution for Method of Selection of Third Member of Grievance Panel.

APPOINTMENT

Resolution appointing Clyde L. Hughes, Jr., Grant L. Moffett, John Marshall, John E. McDonald, Jr., Rowland W. Dwyer, Jr., John B. Wake, Jr., D. Thomas Doub, and Robert T. Royster as Eligible to Serve as Third Member of Employee Grievance Panels.

Proud of Our Progress; Excited About Our Future.