Board of Supervisors
Richard W. Glover,
Chairman
James B. Donati, Jr., ViceChairman
David A. Kaechele
Patricia S. O'Bannon
Frank J. Thornton

County Manager Virgil R. Hazelett, P.E.





Summary of Actions Taken by the Board on January 9, 2001

The invocation was given by Reverend J. Michael Poole, Pastor, Hatcher Memorial Baptist Church.

The minutes of the December 12, 2000 Regular Meeting and the December 20, 2000 Special Meeting were approved.

MANAGER'S COMMENTS

The Virginia Board of Corrections and Department of Corrections recently presented Sheriff Mike Wade with a certificate recognizing Henrico County Jail East for achieving 100% compliance with life, health, and safety standards based on a recent State inspection of the facility. Major Doug Herbert oversees the administration of Jail East and Capt. Tom Lobrano is in charge of security at this regional facility, which is located in New Kent County but solely operated by the Henrico Sheriff's Office.

The President of the International Association of the Chiefs of Police (IACP) has appointed Col. Henry W. Stanley to the organization's Criminal Justice Information Systems Committee for a three-year term ending at the annual conference in 2003. The committee's principal mission is to act as the official liaison agency of IACP with the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) in all matters relating to the gathering and publishing of crime statistics in the United States; and to address issues relating to the National Crime Identification System and the National Incident Base Reporting System.

RECOGNITION OF NEWS MEDIA

Mr. Thornton recognized the presence of Jeremy Redmon of the *Richmond Times-Dispatch* and Tom Lappas of the *Henrico County Leader*.

PRESENTATION/RESOLUTION

Approved Resolution of Commendation for *The Classics*. Mrs. O'Bannon presented the

resolution, which recognized the members of this Mills E. Godwin High School barbershop quartet on its accomplishments and superior showing in district and international competition. Accepting the proclamation were Godwin's vocal instructor, Sherrie Matthews, and two members of *The Classics*, Christopher Day

and Andrew Kay.

APPOINTMENTS/ORGANIZATIONAL ITEMS

Approved Resolution appointing Richard W. Glover as Chairman.

Approved Resolution appointing James B. Donati, Jr. as Vice-Chairman.

Approved Resolution for Establishment of Dates, Time and Location of Regular Meetings of

the Board of Supervisors for 2001.

Approved Resolution appointing David A. Kaechele to the Association of Volunteer Rescue

Squads.

Approved Resolution accepting the resignation of Maryann M. Nuckolls from the Board of

Real Estate Review and Equalization.

Approved Resolution appointing Marilee Tretina to the Board of Real Estate Review and

Equalization.

Approved Resolution appointing Herbert L. Dunford, Jr., Joyce B. Robinson, T. Gordon

Sandridge, Samuel B. Straus, and Deborah G. LaVecchia to the Cable Television

Advisory Committee.

Approved Resolution appointing Quincy R. Dedes to the Charles City, Hanover, Henrico, and

New Kent Disability Services Board.

Approved Resolution appointing Sue Ella Kirkland, Beverly L. Hale, Warner M. Jones, Sr.,

Vee J. Davis, Margaret M. Thistlethwaite, Beverley H. Davis, Courtney S. Hunt, Henry L. Nelson, Jr., and Richard C. McNeil to the Historic Preservation Advisory

Committee.

Approved Resolution appointing Sharon Francisco, Lynne M. Yurchak, Sheila C. Epps,

Virginia M. Martin, Sue R. Linhart, Mel L. Pipgras, and Elizabeth H. Holmes to the

Keep Henrico Beautiful Committee.

Approved Resolution appointing Harmohinder P. Singh-Sandhu, Ann M. Kutz, Anne D.

Sterling, and Joyce S. Pittman to the Library Advisory Board.

Approved Resolution nominating Salem P. Wilson, Jr., Alan L. Thurman, Wilmer N.

Stoneman, III, Patricia S. O Bannon, Sheriff Michael L. Wade, Suzanne T. Roberts, Capt. William M. Cox, Bryan S. McRay, Capt. C. L. Jones, Jr., Todd O. Williams, John M. Black, David H. Fore, Thomas K. Britt, William F. Renz, Capt. Lewis E. Shaw, Jr., Coral C. Gills, Steven M. DeLisi, SMSGT William G. Leonard, Bruce W. Kain, and Leslie W. Porter to the Local Emergency Planning Committee.

Approved Resolution appointing James B. Donati, Jr. to the Maymont Foundation Board of

Directors.

Approved Resolution appointing Linda G. Hinckle, Willie L. Bennett, Raymond C. Gudum,

Wanetta J. Grignol, and Mary Ann Moore to the Henrico Area Mental Health and

Retardation Services Board.

Approved Resolution appointing members Frank J. Thornton, Patricia S. O'Bannon, Eric B.

Millirons, and Jo Ann M. Hunter, and alternates John R. Marlles and Robert C.

Thompson to the Richmond Area Metropolitan Planning Organization.

Approved Resolution appointing Joseph Andrews, Jr. and Robert L. Basham, Jr., to the

Richmond Area Metropolitan Planning Organization Citizens Transportation

Advisory Committee.

Approved Resolution appointing Bobby J. Junes, Elaine Eberly, and Tracy L. Whitley to the

Parks and Recreation Advisory Commission.

Approved Resolution appointing David A. Kaechele, Ernest B. Vanarsdall, Chris W. Archer,

Allen J. Taylor, Elizabeth G. Dwyer, and Eugene Ray Jernigan to the Henrico

County Planning Commission.

Approved Resolution appointing Allen J. Taylor to the Richmond Regional Planning District

Commission.

Approved Resolution appointing Richard W. Glover to the Richmond Regional Planning

District Commission Water Resources Task Force.

Approved Resolution nominating David A. Kaechele to the Stadium Operating Committee of

the Richmond Metropolitan Authority.

Approved Resolution appointing Zulfiqar M. Khan, Edwina C. Richmond, James E. Quinn, III,

Anthony J. Conte, and Daniel C. Galloway, Jr. to the Technology Advisory

Committee.

Approved Resolution appointing Patricia S. O'Bannon, George J. Haudricourt, Jr., Joseph L.

Coleman, Jr., James M. Tyler, III, Marvin L. Ulmer, and Maj. W. Murray Bullock,

Jr. to the Transportation Safety Commission.

PUBLIC HEARING - OTHER ITEM

Approved Ordinance appointing Stephanie T. Ford to the Board of Directors of the Economic

Development Authority.

Proud of Our Progress; Excited About Our Future.