Board of Supervisors Frank J. Thornton, Chairman Richard W. Glover, Vice-Chairman James B. Donati, Jr. David A. Kaechele Patricia S. O'Bannon

County Manager Virgil R. Hazelett, P.E.

Supervisors **Agend-O-Gram**







Published by the Henrico County Manager's Office

Summary of Actions Taken by the Board on June 27, 2000

The invocation was given by Chaplain Dean Collings.

The minutes of the June 13, 2000 Regular Meeting were approved.

PUBLIC COMMENTS

Bernice B. Newell, a resident of the Varina District, stated concerns about the pace and cost of development in Henrico, and its impact on County services and taxes; the upcoming bond referendum; and public school needs in the Varina District.

BOARD OF SUPERVISORS' COMMENTS

Mr. Kaechele recognized Ian Neely from Boy Scout Troop 720, sponsored by Mount Vernon Baptist Church, who was attending the meeting with his mother, Peggy Neely. Ian is working on his Citizenship in the Nation and Community Merit Badge.

RECOGNITION OF NEWS MEDIA

Mr. Thornton recognized the presence of Jeremy Redmon of the *Richmond Times-Dispatch*, Tom Lappas of the Henrico County Leader, and Kathy Culpepper of WRVA-AM radio.

PRESENTATIONS/RESOLUTIONS

Approved Res	solution of Appreciation fo	or Patricia S. O'Bannon.	Mr. Thornton	presented the
---------------------	-----------------------------	--------------------------	--------------	---------------

resolution to Mrs. O'Bannon in acknowledgment of her generous cash donation to Henrico County's Domestic Violence Team for its educational programs and community efforts. Mrs. O'Bannon presented a check to the Team's Chairman, Major James D. Fox, who was joined by Col. Henry W. Stanley, Chief of Police, and

other members of the Team recognized by Mrs. O'Bannon.

Approved Resolution of Appreciation for Virginia Mutual Insurance Company. Mr. Kaechele,

joined by Col. Stanley, presented the resolution in acknowledgment of the

company's generous donation of four camera kits to the Division of Police for use in documenting traffic crashes. Col. Stanley recognized Lt. John Friend, Sgt. Charles Ferrigno, and officers from the Division's Crash Team who were present. Accepting the resolution on behalf of Virginia Mutual was Barbara Gurrieri, Claims Adjuster.

Sharon Francisco, Co-Chair of the Keep Henrico Beautiful Awards Subcommittee, was joined by Keep Henrico Beautiful Committee Chair Kathy W. Crew, Committee member Ann H. Johnson, and the members of the Board of Supervisors in recognizing selected Henrico County residents and businesses for their beautification projects. Land Lover Awards were presented to the following residents: Michael and Barbara Phillips (Brookland), Edward C. Myers (Fairfield), Sylvia and John Bunsavage (Three Chopt), Lois C. Hill (Tuckahoe), and Steve and Jeanine Lenox (Varina). The Clean Business Award was presented to Quebecor World, represented by Susan

Grinnan (Brookland). Also recognized as Clean Business Award recipients were the following establishments, which were unable to be represented: Franco's Fine Clothiers (Fairfield), Broadmoor Apartments (Three Chopt), Early to Rise (Tuckahoe), and Williamsburg Road Associates (Varina).

APPOINTMENTS

Approved Resolution appointing Herbert L. Dunford, Jr. to the Cable Television Advisory

Committee.

Resolution reappointing Karen S. Props to the Central Virginia Solid Waste Approved

Management Plan Citizen Advisory Committee.

Resolution reappointing David A. Kaechele to the Greater Richmond Partnership Approved

Board of Directors.

Approved Resolution reappointing James B. Donati, Jr., Peter L. Francisco, James H.

> Atkinson, Jr., and Leonard C. Cake, as Members and renominating James B. Donati, Jr. and Peter Francisco as Directors of the James River Development Corporation.

Resolution reappointing Reginald H. Nelson, IV to the Richmond Metropolitan Approved

Authority Board of Directors.

Resolution reappointing Mary Christine Dombalis to the Board of Social Services. Approved

Approved Resolution reappointing James B. Donati, Jr. and David A. Kaechele as Members of,

and Robert C. Thompson and Eric B. Millirons as Alternates to, the Virginia Transit

Association Board of Directors.

PUBLIC HEARING ITEMS

Approved Resolution for Change in Street Name for Toston Court in Woodberry Subdivision,

located in the Three Chopt District.

Deferred to

July 11, 2000 Meeting

Ordinance for Vacation of Portion of Right-of-Way and Alley in Glen Allen Heights,

located in the Brookland District.

Deferred to

July 25, 2000 Meeting

Resolution for Condemnation of a Temporary Construction Easement for the Gaskins Road Waterline Project, Samuel T. Atkinson, located in the Tuckahoe

District.

Resolution for Vacation of Alley, Block F, Section 6, in Highland Springs, located in Approved

the Varina District.

Approved Resolution for Amendment to the 1999-00 Annual Fiscal Plan for June, 2000.

GENERAL AGENDA

Resolution for Signatory Authority for Acceptance of Juvenile Accountability Approved

Incentive Block Grant Award.

Resolution for Appropriation of Funds for Fiscal Year 2000-01. Approved

Resolution for Approval of Nominations to the Local Workforce Investment Board. Approved

Approved Resolution for Authorization of Appeal, W. M. Schlosser Co., Inc. v. Henrico County, Virginia.

Approved Resolution To Initiate an Amendment to the 2010 Major Thoroughfare Plan to

Remove a Portion of Nuckols Road from Springfield Road to Staples Mill Road.

Approved Resolution for Signatory Authority for Quitclaim of Portion of Utility Easement,

Regency V, Ltd., located in the Fairfield District.

Approved Resolution for Signatory Authority for Deed of Easement, The L-C Corporation on

Westerre Parkway, located in the Three Chopt District.

Approved Resolution for Construction Services Agreement, InfraCorps of Virginia, Inc. for

Horsepen Road Phase 2 Sanitary Sewer Rehabilitation.

Approved Resolution for Signatory Authority for Construction Service Agreement, Am-Liner

East, Inc., Little Westham Creek Sanitary Sewer Rehabilitation.

Approved Resolution for Signatory Authority for Central Virginia Waste Management

Authority Agreement for Removal of CFC/HCFC Gases.

Approved Resolution accepting Mountain Glen, Sections 1 and 2, and a Resubdivision of a

Portion of Glen Allen Heights, located in the Brookland District; and Whispering Pines East, Section A, located in the Varina District, into the County road system for

maintenance.

ADDED BY UNANIMOUS CONSENT

Approved Resolution Directing the Planning Commission to Hold a Public Hearing on a

Possible Amendment to Section 24-52 of the Code of the County of Henrico.

Proud of Our Progress; Excited About Our Future.