Board of Supervisors
Frank J. Thornton,
Chairman
Richard W. Glover, ViceChairman
James B. Donati, Jr.
David A. Kaechele
Patricia S. O'Bannon

<u>County Manager</u> Virgil R. Hazelett, P.E.





Summary of Actions Taken by the Board on January 11, 2000

The invocation was given by Reverend Walter L. Smith, Pastor, New Light Baptist Church.

The minutes of the December 14, 1999 Regular and Special Meetings were approved.

MANAGER'S COMMENTS

James W. Stewart, III, Executive Director of Henrico Area Mental Health and Retardation Services, was recently elected president-elect of the National Association of County Behavioral Health Directors. The Association is an affiliate of the National Association of Counties and represents the interests of over 300 counties across the country in which mental health services are operated directly through local governments.

Last month, Assistant Director of Public Information Tamra McKinney won two Best in Virginia awards for Henrico's 1997-98 Annual Report, *Celebrating our Successes* one award for excellence in expository writing and one for design. The program is sponsored by the International Association of Business Communicators and the competition includes private sector companies as well as government and non-profit organizations. Also, both Director of Public Information Coral Gills and Ms. McKinney have been asked to served on the judges' panel for the Gold Quill Awards Program, where they will critique the communications work of Gold Quill hopefuls from all over the world.

PUBLIC COMMENTS

Yacuba D. White, a resident of the Fairfield District, expressed concerns about police-citizen relations in the Newbridge Road area.

Thomas L. Obenschain, a resident of the Fairfield District and representative of the Eastern Henrico Community Action Committee, spoke in support of a multi-purpose community center in eastern Henrico.

BOARD OF SUPERVISORS' COMMENTS

Mrs. O'Bannon referenced an article in the January 2000 issue of *Richmond* magazine about The Year of the Dragon Chinese New Year celebration that will take place at The Cultural Arts Center at Glen Allen on February 5 - 6, 2000.

Mr. Donati recognized Michael L. Wade, who was attending his first Board meeting as Sheriff, and Mr. Glover recognized the presence of Merle H. Bruce, Jr., who was recently promoted to the position of Chief Deputy Sheriff.

RECOGNITION OF NEWS MEDIA

Mr. Donati recognized the presence of Jim O'Brien of Times Dispatch radio, Craig Butterworth of WRVA-AM radio, Jeremy Redmon of the *Richmond Times-Dispatch*, Tom Lappas of the *Henrico County Leader*, and Ric Young and Jeremy Mews of WTVR-TV 6.

PROCLAMATION/RESOLUTIONS/PRESENTATIONS

Mrs. O'Bannon presented a proclamation recognizing January 16 - 22, 2000 as Henrico Jaycee Week. Accepting the proclamation were Karen-Ann DeWitt, President of the Tuckahoe Jaycees and Kris Edelman, President of the West End Jaycees.

Approved Resolution of Appreciation for The Henrico MLK Commemoration Committee. Mr.

Hazelett announced that Mr. Thornton would be presenting the resolution at the MLK Commemoration Observance to be held in Henrico County on January 15 and

17, 2000.

Approved Resolution of Appreciation for Progressive Insurance. Mr. Kaechele, joined by Col.

Henry W. Stanley, Jr., Chief of Police, presented the resolution in recognition of the company's generous donation of two of its fleet vehicles to the Division of Police for the Motorist Assistance Program. Accepting the resolution was David J. Skove,

General Manager of Progressive Insurance.

APPOINTMENTS/ORGANIZATIONAL ITEMS

Approved Resolution appointing Frank J. Thornton as Chairman.

Approved Resolution appointing Richard W. Glover as Vice-Chairman.

Approved Resolution for Establishment of Dates, Time and Location of Regular Meetings of

the Board of Supervisors

Approved Resolution appointing Robert Nelson and Thomas E. Pruitt to the Board of Building

Code Appeals.

Approved Resolution appointing Maryann M. Nuckolls, Helen E. Harris, Preston Harrison,

Richard Cocke, and Sue Hicks to the Board of Real Estate Review and Equalization.

Approved Resolution appointing Gentry Bell, Joyce B. Robinson, T. Gordon Sandridge,

Samuel B. Strauss, and Deborah G. La Vecchia to the Cable Television Advisory

Committee.

Approved Resolution appointing John G. Dankos, Sr., Thomas E. Pruitt, James B. Donati, Jr.,

and David A. Kaechele to the Capital Region Airport Commission.

Approved Resolution appointing Marcia E. Kelley, Robert C. Whiteman, and William S.

Dewhirst to the Central Virginia Waste Management Authority Board of Directors,

and Frank L. Miller, Jr. and Robert K. Pinkerton as alternate members.

Approved Resolution appointing Peggy Smith to the Charles City, Hanover, Henrico, and New

Kent Disability Services Board.

Approved Resolution appointing Sue Ella Kirkland, Beverly L. Hale, Warner M. Jones, Sr.,

Vee J. Davis, Virginia M. Martin, Margaret Thistlethwaite, Beverley H. Davis, Courtney S. Hunt, and Henry L. Nelson, Jr. to the Historic Preservation Advisory

Committee.

Approved Resolution appointing Virginia T. Roane, Cheryl E. Drew, Kathy W. Crew, Paula P.

Williams, and Ann H. Johnson to the Keep Henrico Beautiful Committee.

Approved Resolution appointing Harmohinder P. Singh-Sandhu, Ann M. Kutz, Anne D.

Sterling, and Joyce Pittman to the Library Advisory Board.

Approved Resolution appointing James B. Donati, Jr. to the Maymont Foundation Board of

Directors.

Approved Resolution appointing Doris H. Roberts and George H. Hettrick to the Henrico Area

Mental Health and Retardation Services Board.

Approved Resolution appointing Eric B. Millirons, Jo Ann Hunter, Patricia S. O'Bannon, and

Frank J. Thornton to the Richmond Area Metropolitan Planning Organization and

John R. Marlles and Robert C. Thompson as alternate members.

Resolution accepting the resignation from Norman V. Edwards and Cindy Puryear Approved

from the Parks and Recreation Advisory Commission.

Resolution appointing Marilee Tretina, Herbert T. Sink, and Frank J. Thornton to the Approved

Parks and Recreation Advisory Commission.

Approved Resolution appointing Ernest B. Vanarsdall, Chris W. Archer, Allen J. Taylor,

Elizabeth G. Dwyer, Debra Quesinberry, and Patricia S. O'Bannon to the Henrico

County Planning Commission.

Approved Resolution appointing Gregory R. Baka, Elizabeth G. Dwyer, James B. Donati, Jr.,

> Richard W. Glover, David A. Kaechele, and Patricia S. O'Bannon to the Richmond Regional Planning District Commission, and Harvey L. Hinson as an alternate

member.

Resolution appointing Richard W. Glover to the Richmond Regional Planning Approved

District Commission Water Resources Task Force.

Resolution nominating David A. Kaechele to the Stadium Operating Committee of Approved

the Richmond Metropolitan Authority.

Resolution accepting the resignation of Melvin D. Waddy from the Board of Social Approved

Services.

Resolution appointing Carol D. Smith and Richard W. Glover to the Board of Social Approved

Services.

Approved Resolution accepting the resignation of Tom Kazas from the Technology Advisory

Committee.

Approved Resolution appointing George J. Haudricourt, Jr., Joseph L. Coleman, Jr., James M.

Tyler, III, Marvin L. Ulmer, Armendia M. Royster, and Patricia S. O'Bannon to the

Transportation Safety Commission.

Resolution appointing David A. Kaechele to the Henrico County Association of **Approved**

Volunteer Rescue Squads.

PUBLIC HEARING

Approved with

Resolution for POD-99-99 for Approval of a Plan of Development and Alternative **Amended Condition** Fence Height Plan for the Eubank Road Parking Lot at Richmond International

Airport.

Proud of Our Progress; Excited About Our Future.