

Supervisors Agend-O-Gram Summary of Actions Taken by the Board on January 14, 1998

The invocation was given by Reverend William H. Young, Pastor, Hatcher Memorial Baptist Church.

The minutes of the December 10, 1997 Regular and Special meetings were approved.

MANAGER'S COMMENTS

The Henrico Regional Jail East facility is one of only seven detention facilities nationwide profiled in the American Institute of Architect's 1997-98 edition of *Justice Facilities Review*. Published annually by AIA since 1976, the *Review* showcases the state of the art in prisons, jails, courts, and law enforcement facilities and serves as a resource to architects and users involved in justice architecture, design, and construction. The County's Department of General Services and the architects for Henrico Regional Jail East � Mosely, Harris & McClintock and Vitetta Group � worked cooperatively with the Sheriff's Office in the design of Henrico � s nationally recognized jail facility.

BOARD OF SUPERVISORS' COMMENTS

Jesse E. Ward, III, a Three Chopt District resident, presented a petition from his neighbors in the 5700 block of Monument Avenue requesting a street change name for Monumental Avenue because of confusion in mail delivery and other services provided to persons living at the corresponding addresses.

RECOGNITION OF NEWS MEDIA

James B. Donati, Jr., Chairman, recognized the presence of Wendy Wagner of the Richmond Times-Dispatch.

PROCLAMATION/PRESENTATION

Mr. Donati presented a proclamation recognizing January 18 � 24, 1998 as Constitutional Officer Week. Accepting the proclamation were Sheriff A. D. "Toby" Mathews, Sr., President of the Virginia Association of Local Elected Constitutional Officers; and Yvonne G. Smith, Clerk of the Court.

APPOINTMENTS

Approved	Resolution appointing David A. Kaechele as Chairman.
Approved	Resolution appointing Patricia S. O'Bannon as Vice Chairman.
Approved	Resolution appointing Martha A. Joiner as Clerk.
Approved	Resolution appointing B. Page Bourgeios and Carolyn L. Knight as Deputy Clerks.

Approved	Resolution Establishing Dates, Time and Location of Regular Meetings of the Board of County Supervisors.
Approved	Resolution appointing Maryann Nuckolls, Helen Harris, Preston Harrison, Richard Cocke, and Sue Hicks to the Board of Real Estate Review and Equalization.
Approved	Resolution appointing Anthony G. Coles, Debbie LaVecchia, Samuel D. Perry, and Samuel B. Straus to the Cable Television Advisory Committee.
Approved	Resolution appointing Robert L. Basham, Jr., Beverley H. Davis, Vee J. Davis, Roland H. Harris, Jr., Courtney S. Hunt, Henry L. Nelson, Jr., R. Wayne Smith, Margaret M. Thistlethwaite, and Virginia M. Martin to the Historic Preservation Advisory Committee.
Approved	Resolution appointing Sally Chamberlin, Catherine Minor, and Margaret Woodson to the Keep Henrico Beautiful Committee.
Approved	Resolution appointing John E. McNeil, Sr., Sarah A. P. Raible, Marilee Tretina, and Ellen Seymour to the Library Advisory Board
Approved	Resolution appointing James B. Donati, Jr. to the Maymont Foundation Board of Directors.
Approved	Resolution appointing Willie L. Bennett and Wanetta J. Grignol to the Henrico Area Mental Health and Retardation Services Board.
Approved	Resolution appointing Patricia S. O'Bannon, Frank J. Thornton, Eric B. Millions, and Lee Yolton as members and Randall R. Silber and Robert C. Thompson as alternates to the Richmond Area Metropolitan Planning Organization.
Approved	Resolution appointing Cindy Puryear, Robert E. Mosby, Bobby J. Junes, Elaine Eberly and Frank J. Thornton to the Parks and Recreation Advisory Commission.
Approved	Resolution appointing Ernest B. Vanarsdall, Chris W. Archer, Mary L. Wade, Elizabeth Dwyer, David A. Zehler, and James B. Donati, Jr. to the Henrico County Planning Commission.
Approved	Resolution appointing Ernest B. Vanarsdall to the Richmond Regional Planning District Commission.
Approved	Resolution appointing Richard W. Glover to the Richmond Regional Planning District Commission Water Resources Task Force
Approved	Resolution nominating James B. Donati, Jr. to the Stadium Operating Committee of the Richmond Metropolitan Authority.
Approved	Resolution appointing Joseph L. Coleman, Jr., George J. Haudricourt, Jr. Patricia S. O'Bannon, Armendia M. Ritchie, James M. Tyler, III and Marvin L. Ulmer to the Transportation Safety Commission.
Approved	Resolution appointing Frank J. Thornton to the Henrico County Association of Volunteer Rescue Squads.

GENERAL AGENDA

ApprovedResolution for Provision of Funds for Construction of Track and Soccer Facility,

	Douglas Freeman High School, Projects #539981-709-071-03 and #539981-709-071-04, located in the Three Chopt and Tuckahoe Magisterial Districts.
Approved	Resolution for Provision of Funds for Acquisition of New Musical Instruments, Hermitage High School, Project #539981-709-072-01 located in the Brookland Magisterial District.
Approved	Resolution for Ratification of Agreement for Wide Area Network, Internet Access and Related Services � U. S. West Interprise America, Inc.
Approved	Resolution for Initiation of Zoning Ordinance Amendment Concerning Non-School Use of School Facilities and Grounds.
Approved	Resolution for Amendment to the Personnel Complement for Social Services.
Approved	Resolution for Signatory Authority for Construction Services Agreement with Godsey & Sons, Inc.
Approved	Resolution accepting the following roads into the County road system for maintenance: Wythe Trace, Section 3 and Winterberry, Section A, located in the Three Chopt District; and Keswick, Section 2, located in the Tuckahoe District.

Proud of Our Progress; Excited About Our Future.
