Emergency icon

Henrico County is following a plan of reduced operations.

View updated county government closings and operational changes.

Henrico Becomes a Shire

As the Indians became less of a threat to the colonists, more settlers came to Virginia. In 1624, England assumed control of the colonies.

In 1634, Virginia was divided into eight shires, or counties, one being Henrico. By 1640, the Henrico court was held at Varina. By 1752, the courthouse was moved to Richmond.

Google Translate Icon