Court Calendar – Matters regarding traffic violations are heard on Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday at 9:30 a.m. and 11:00 a.m. The 1st, 2nd, and 4th Mondays is the Traffic Safety Docket at 11:00am. The 3rd Monday is the DUID/Prostitution docket at 11:00am.
Would you prefer to pay your traffic violation fine in advance so you don’t have to attend court? Most traffic infractions may be prepaid prior to the scheduled court date. Use the link below to see if your fine can be prepaid.
Complied With Law
The following charges may be complied with law by presenting appropriate documentation of compliance BEFORE the assigned court date on your summons. If the judge complies your charge on the court date, you will be responsible to pay $66.00 court costs within 30 days of the complied date.
- Defective Equipment
- Expired Inspection & Rejection Sticker violations
- No O.L./Registration in possession
- Fail to Update Address with DMV
- Improper display of License Plates
- Improper Tint
- Expired Registration
Time to Pay
TIME TO PAY means the Clerk’s Office will extend the due date of fine(s) and costs due the Court if you need more time than the 30 days allowed by statute. Payment arrangements may be set up at the Court ONLY if the monies have not been transmitted to our Collection Agency.
Motion to Rehear
If convicted by the General District Court, you have the right to file a motion to reopen your case within 60 calendar days after your trial date. You must file your motion in person, or in writing if you live more than 50 miles from the court. Motions to reopen will be granted only upon a showing of good cause.
Monday through Thursday: Motions must be filed no later than 11:00 am and will be heard on the 1:30 pm docket the same day.
Friday: Motions must be filed no later than 10:00 am and will be heard on the 11:00 am docket the same day.
If you file a motion to rehear, a General District Court Judge will decide if there is good cause to reopen your case and then handle it accordingly if reopened.
***If you have further questions, you may contact an attorney. The Clerk’s Office staff is prohibited from giving any legal advice***
**You also can contact Central Virginia Legal Aid at (804) 344-9857**
If convicted by the General District Court, you have the right to appeal within 10 calendar days after your trial date. You must appeal in person, or if you live more than 50 miles from the court, it may be done in writing. Once you appeal, a new trial date will be set in Henrico County Circuit Court.
*** If you have further questions, you may contact an attorney. The Clerk’s Office staff is prohibited from giving any legal advice ***
** You also can contact Central Virginia Legal Aid at (804) 344-9857 **
To establish policies and procedures to assist individuals when requesting a continuance.
It is the policy of this court that continuances are considered by the presiding Judge and will be reviewed on the court date. Continuances will not be granted prior to the scheduled court date. There are no exceptions.
Continuances may be requested in writing, or by Facsimile (804) 501-7388. The request should be made as far in advance of the scheduled court date as is practicable. It is the defendant’s duty to contact the court on the scheduled court date, or as soon as possible thereafter, and inquire as to the Judges ruling on the request. If the request is granted, the new court date will be provided to the defendant once the court is contacted. The court will not notify the defendant of the new court date.