County of Henrico

Henrico County Electoral Board Meeting

December 21, 2022

The Henrico County Electoral Board convened a meeting on Wednesday, December 21, 2022, at 10:00 a.m. in the Conference Room of the Registrar's office. Those present were:

PRESENT

Yvonne Smith, Chair, Electoral Board

Linwood Cobb, III, Vice-Chair, Electoral Board

Cathy Woodson, Secretary, Electoral Board

Mark Coakley, General Registrar, Voter Registration and Elections

Chris Panel, Public

Martha Cohen, Public

Mary Grace Boyle, Public

Nancy Smith, Public

Call to Order

The meeting was called to order by the Chair, at 10:02 a.m.

Election Officers

Mr. Coakley recommended the number of Election Officers to serve for the Special Election on February 21, 2023. The recommendation was to have 9 Election Officers: Chief, Assistant Chief, Poll Book (1), Count Sheet (1), Ballot officer (1), Greeter (1), OP/Drop Box (2), Machine officer (1).

On a motion by Mr. Cobb and seconded by Mrs. Woodson and by unanimous vote, the Electoral Board approved the recommendation presented by Mr. Coakley.

The vote of the Board was as follows:

| <u>Aye</u> | Nay |
|------------|-----|
| Smith | |
| Cobb, III | |
| Woodson | |

Ballots Order

Mr. Coakley distributed the statistical voting data for the 4th district polling locations for the February 21, 2023, Special Election and recommended the following: 58,000 ballots for Election Day and 7,750 ballots for AB to be ordered.

On a motion by Mr. Cobb, III and seconded by Mrs. Woodson and by unanimous vote, the Electoral Board approved the recommendation presented by Mr. Coakley.

The vote of the Board was as follows:

| <u>Aye</u> | Nay |
|------------|-----|
| Smith | |
| Cobb, III | |
| Woodson | |

Poll Books

Mr. Coakley discussed the plan to use paper poll books instead of the Electronic Poll Books for the Special Election. After reviewing the statistics on polling place voter turnout and Absentee; it was decided to use paper poll books. Paper poll books are required to be at each polling location on Election day; using paper poll books will be reviewed in the trainings. Electronic Poll books will be used for Absentee voting. The Electoral Board members were in agreement with the Registrar to use the paper poll books on Election day.

Review of Polling Places

Oakview-#221

Mr. Coakley discussed with the Electoral Board to dissolve the Oakview-Precinct #221 which had been at an Assistant Living facility prior to 2020; the precinct cannot return to the Assistant Living facility. It is recommended to dissolve the Oakview precinct into Brookland -Precinct #203 effective June 1, 2023.

On a motion by Mrs. Woodson and seconded by Mr. Cobb, III and subject to the approval of the Henrico County Board of Supervisors to move:

 Oakview-#221, 9200 Lydell Dr, Henrico VA 23228, and dissolve into Brookland Precinct #203 at Brookland Middle School, 9200 Lydell Drive, Henrico, VA 23228. The vote of the Board was as follows:

<u>Aye</u> <u>Nay</u>

Smith

Cobb, III

Woodson

Causeway-#301

Mr. Coakley received notification that Gayton Baptist Church is not available for the June primary. Therefore, the General Registrar requests the Electoral Board to move this precinct, Causeway #301 to Nuckols Farm Elementary School #306 for the June 1, 2023, primary only.

On a motion by Mr. Cobb, III and seconded by Mrs. Woodson, and subject to approval by the Henrico County Board of Supervisors to move:

 Causeway #301 Gayton Baptist Church, 13501 N. Gayton Road, Henrico VA, 23233 to Nuckols Farm Elementary School #306, 12351 Graham Meadows Drive, Henrico, VA 23233, effective June 1, 2023, primary.

The vote of the Board was as follows:

<u>Aye</u> <u>Nay</u>

Smith

Cobb, III

Woodson

Other business

The Electoral Board members will notify Mr. Coakley of possible dates for the February and March 2023 Electoral Board meetings.

Public Comments

None

Good of the Order

None

Adjournment

The vote of the Board was as follows:

Cathy Woodson, Secretary

There being no further business, on a motion by Mrs. Woodson, seconded by Mr. Cobb, III, and by unanimous vote, the Board voted to adjourn at 10:31 a.m.

Ave
Smith
Cobb III
Woodson

Yvonne Smith, Chair

Linwood Cobb, III, Vice-Chair