COUNTY OF HERNICO, VIRGINIA ELECTORAL BOARD MEETING September 26, 2023

The Henrico County Electoral Board convened a meeting on September 26, 2023, at 2:00 p.m. Those present at the meeting were:

PRESENT

Yvonne Smith, Chair, Electoral Board Cathy Woodson, Secretary, Electoral Board Mark Coakley, General Registrar, Voter Registration and Elections Anne Marie Middlesworth, Deputy Registrar, Voter Registration and Elections Leslie Funn, Management Specialist 1, Voter Registration and Elections Ken Vande Vrede, Public Martha Cohen, Public Chris Pandel, Public

Absent:

Linwood Cobb, III, Vice-Chair, Electoral Board

Call to Order

The meeting was called to order by the Chair, at 2:00 p.m.

Public Comments

Ken Vande Vrede- provided information to the Electoral Board regarding a lawsuit pertaining to the Voter Rolls (list of registered voters) in Virginia State. Mr. Vande Vrede also inquired about an interest in opening a channel of communication with the Electoral Board and the Registrar's office. Mrs. Smith stated that all questions and concerns are received through the election board's email address. Any Virginia State concerns should be addressed with Elect, as per Mrs. Woodson. Martha Cohen-What is the ratio of Democrats, Republicans and Independents working with the election office? Mr. Coakley provides each political party with a list to review but does not provide the ratio count. Mrs. Cohen stated there's also an issue in the DMV system with issuing VA Driver Privilege cards and registering persons who are not citizens to vote. Mrs. Smith stated this concern should be addressed to the VA State office. Mrs. Cohen asked what's the process if someone presents a VA Driver Privilege Card for voting. Mrs. Middlesworth stated the is not a form of ID for voting. If someone doesn't have a proper ID, they will be instructed to complete an ID confirmation form according to the VA Election law.

ADA (American with Disabilities Act) checklist for precincts

Mr. Coakley distributed the list of polling places visited with the ADA checklist to the Electoral Board members. After all the Henrico County polling places were reviewed, there were two polling places that have handicap parking issues:

- Central Gardens Math & Science Center
- Skipwith Elementary School

The Registrar's office will designate more accessible parking with printed signs and cones on Election day (s).

Move Elko precinct (New Bridge Baptist Church) to Elko Middle School

The Registrar's office received a letter from the New Bridge Baptist Church in June, 2023. The letter stated that the church will no longer operate as a Henrico County polling place due to the nursery school programs being held on site during day.

The New Bridge Baptist church has agreed to continue as a polling place with Henrico County until November 7, 2023.

On the motion of Mrs. Woodson, and second by Mrs. Smith and by unanimous vote the Electoral Board approved to relocated Elko precinct from the New Bridge Baptist Church, 5701 Elko Road, Sandston, VA 23150 to Elko Middle School, 5901 Elko Road, Sandston, VA 23150 effective March 1, 2024.

The vote of the Board was as follows:

<u>Aye</u> Smith Woodson Nay

Other business

None.

Good of the Order

Mrs. Woodson-Thanked the Registrar's staff for correcting the ballots for the Fairfield district in a timely manner.

Closed session to discuss personnel matters.

On the motion of Mrs. Woodson, and second by Mrs. Smith and by unanimous vote the Electoral Board moved into Closed session to discuss personnel matters at 2:20 p.m.

The vote of the Board was as follows:

<u>Aye</u> Smith Woodson Nay

On the motion of Mrs. Woodson and second by Mrs. Smith and by unanimous vote the Electoral Board moved into public session at 3:23 p.m.

The vote of the Board was as follows:

<u>Aye</u> Smith Woodson <u>Nay</u>

Adjournment

There being no further business, on the motion of Mrs. Woodson, seconded by Mrs. Smith, and by unanimous vote, the Board voted to adjourn the meeting at 3:24 p.m.

The vote of the Board was as follows:

<u>Aye</u> Smith	Nay
Woodson	
Yvonne G. Smith, Chair	Cathy Woodson, Secretary