COUNTY OF HERNICO, VIRGINIA **ELECTORAL BOARD MEETING**

January 4, 2024

The Henrico County Electoral Board convened a meeting on Thursday, January 4, 2024, at 10:00 a.m. Those present at the meeting were:

PRESENT

Yvonne Smith, Chair, Electoral Board
Linwood Cobb, III, Vice-Chair, Electoral Board
Cathy Woodson, Secretary, Electoral Board
Mark Coakley, General Registrar, Voter Registration and Elections
Anne Marie Middlesworth, Deputy Registrar, Voter Registration and Elections
Leslie Funn, Management Specialist, Voter Registration and Elections
Tom O'Keefe, Public
Ken Vande Vrede, Public
Chris Pandel, Public
Karen Sowers, Public
Thomas W. Belvin, Public
Harry H. Kelso, Public
Douglas Clark, Public

Call to Order

The meeting was called to order by the Chair, at 10:00 a.m.

Amended

Public Comments

Harry Kelso commented on the 2023 recount election regarding the documents provided for the recount and vendors scanning the ballots.

Tim O'Keefe commented on the Election Official sign-up forms not being readily available at the Western Government office.

Thomas W. Belvin commented on an Absentee voter, who presented more than one ballot at his assigned precinct on Election day.

Ken Vande Vrede commented on the 2020 Election. He is requesting a special meeting with the electoral board to review the results in Henrico County.

Douglas Clark commented on the Code of Virginia Election Laws regarding the electoral board duties and the adjusting the meeting schedule for Henrico citizens to attend.

Set numbers of Election Officials lines/EPBs

There will be two Election Chiefs for the March 5, 2024, Presidential Dual Primary Election. The Registrar distributed the election ballot spreadsheet for the Electoral Board members to review.

Number/locations of drop boxes

There are 5 drop boxes: Western Government office, Eastern Government office, Varina Library, Tuckahoe Library and Deep Run Recreation Center. The libraries have raised concerns about the inside drop boxes; therefore, the Registrar will purchase three extra drop boxes for outside installation. The cost will be \$11,000 total. The drop boxes will be

monitored by video cameras 24 hours a day and the election officials will be responsible for drop boxes, as well. The library staff will not have any responsibility for the drop boxes.

On motion of Cathy Woodson and seconded by Mr. Cobb, III, and by unanimous vote the Board approves the Registrar's recommendation of installing outside drop boxes with security cameras at Varina Library, Tuckahoe Library and Deep Run Recreation Center

The vote of the Board was as follows:

Aye Smith
Cobb, III
Woodson

Emergency Absentee Ballots- Monday, March 4, 2024 (8:00 a.m. – 2:00 p.m.)

On motion of Linwood Cobb, III seconded by Mrs. Woodson, and by unanimous vote the Board approved to allow the General Registrar, on Monday, March 4, 2024, 8:00 a.m. – 2:00 p.m. to issue emergency absentee ballots for the March 5, 2024, Presidential Dual Primary Election, and post Emergency voting in large print on the Registrar's website.

The vote of the Board was as follows:

Aye Smith Cobb, III Woodson

Allen Layne Voting Supervisor- retired and Ammon Starkey-promotion

On motion of Linwood Cobb, III and seconded by Cathy Woodson, Ammon Starkey was promoted to the position of Voting Machine Technician Supervisor.

The vote of the Board was as follows:

Aye Smith Cobb, III Woodson

The Electoral Board members thank Allen Layne for his years' service with the Henrico Voter Registration office.

Other business- Electoral Board reorganization

On motion of Linwood Cobb, III and seconded by Cathy Woodson, the reorganization of the Henrico County Electoral Board Members was as follows:

Yvonne Smith was nominated to Chair position on the Electoral Board.

Linwood Cobb, III was nominated to Vice-Chair position on the Electoral Board.

<u>Cathy P. Woodson</u> was nominated to Secretary Position on the Electoral Board.		
The vote of the Board was as fol	lows:	
<u>Aye</u> Cobb, III Woodson	<u>Nay</u>	
Good of the Order Next meeting will be held in Feb	oruary, 2024, day TBD.	
	on motion of Mrs. Woodson, seconded by Mr. Cobb, III, rd voted to adjourn the meeting at 10:32 a.m.	
The vote of the Board was as fol	lows:	
Aye Smith Cobb, III Woodson	Nay	
Yvonne Smith, Chair	Linwood Cobb, III, Vice-Chair	
Cathy Woodson, Secretary		