# COUNTY OF HERNICO, VIRGINIA ELECTORAL BOARD MEETING

February 8, 2024

The Henrico County Electoral Board convened a meeting on Thursday, February 8, 2024, at 10:00 a.m. Those present at the meeting were:

## **PRESENT**

Yvonne Smith, Chair, Electoral Board

Cathy Woodson, Secretary, Electoral Board

Mark Coakley, General Registrar, Voter Registration and Elections

Anne Marie Middlesworth, Deputy Registrar, Voter Registration and Elections

Leslie Funn, Management Specialist, Voter Registration and Elections

Ken Vande Vrede, Public

Mary Grace Boyle, Public

Chris Pandel, Public

Anne Hayes, Henrico County Democratic Committee

Tyler Lincks, Printelect

Nancy Smith, Public

Douglas Clark, Public

Vice-Chair-Linwood Cobb, III-attending through electronic communication

# Va Code Sec. 2.2-3708.3 applies to this meeting.

Linwood Cobb, III, Vice-Chair, is unable to attend the meeting due to a personal matter outside of the County of Henrico.

Participation by a member through electronic communication means is approved pursuant to the Code subsection D.

The Electoral Board shall record in its minutes Mr. Cobb is out of State.

### Call to Order

The meeting was called to order by the Chair, at 10:00 a.m.

## **Appoint officers of election-**Mark Coakley

The Electoral Board members are required to meet during the first week of February to appoint the officers of election for a one- year term. Henrico County currently has 1,560 Chief and Assistant Chief officers of election for the March 5, 2024 Presidential Dual Primary Election. There are 40 new officers of election, who have signed up online but have not completed the required paperwork.

On motion by Cathy Woodson and seconded by Linwood Cobb, III and by unanimous vote, the board approved for the one-year term appoint for the Henrico County Election Pollworkers.

The vote of the Board was as follows:

Aye
Yvonne Smith
Linwood Cobb, III
Cathy Woodson

# Request split precinct waiver-Mark Coakley

Elect requires the Electoral Board to request a split precinct waiver pursuant to §24.2-307 for elections that are held in both the House of Delegate and State Senate seats. This waver will be effective for the 2025 Election year.

On motion by Cathy Woodson and seconded by Linwood Cobb, III and by unanimous vote, the board approved to request a waiver from Elect persuaded to 24.2-307.

The vote of the Board was as follows:

Aye
Yvonne Smith
Linwood Cobb, III
Cathy Woodson

<u>Public Comments-</u> Electoral Board-Chair, Yvonne Smith instructed the public they have three minutes to state their comment (s). This meeting is not a question-and-answer session.

Douglas Clarke commented on the public comment section of last month's meeting only included a roster of topics. He presented the electoral board with a typed copy of amendments to the public comments. Mr. Clarke requests a detailed list of the electoral board members' duties and information on how to vacate the electoral board.

Ken Vande Vrede made a request for a special meeting with the electoral board regarding election fraud in the 2020 Election. He is asking the electoral board to view a DVD regarding election fraud at an election seminar.

Chris Pandel commented on the electoral board agreeing to attend Mr. Vande Vrede seminar regarding election fraud in the county.

# For the Good of the Order- None

### Closed session to discuss LESS security plan

On motion of Mrs. Woodson and seconded by Mr. Cobb, III, that the electoral board members convene in closed meeting at 10:21 a.m. to discuss personnel matters and LESS security plan.

The vote of the Board was as follows:

Aye Nay
Smith
Cobb, III
Woodson

The vote of the Board was as follows:		
	Aye Smith Cobb, III Woodson	<u>Nay</u>
Adjournment		
There being no further business, on the motion of Mrs. Woodson, seconded by Mr. Cobb, III, and by unanimous vote, the Board voted to adjourn the meeting at 10:53 a.m.		
The vote of the Board was as follows:		
	Aye Smith Cobb, III Woodson	<u>Nay</u>
Yvonne Smith, Chair		Linwood Cobb, III, Vice-Chair
Cathy Woodson, Secretary		

On the motion of Mrs. Woodson and second by Mr. Cobb, III and by unanimous vote the

Electoral Board moved into public session at 10:53 a.m.