RECREATION & PARKS
Clarke-Palmore House Museum
The Clarke-Palmore House Museum is located high atop historic Marion Hill in Henrico County. The Museum interprets the story of the Palmore family who lived on a small farm in 1930. Like other farm families living through the Great Depression, the Palmore family struggled to make a living during tough economic times. The museum is open for special programs, events, and by appointment.
Hours of Operation
Open by appointment only. Please call (804) 652-3409 to schedule an appointment.
Click here for programs held at the Clarke-Palmore House Museum.
To view a complete list of Recreation programs and register online, visit HCRP Connect.
Registration is required in advance for all programs with a fee.
Is This the End? 150th Anniversary of the Fall of Richmond
Friday, April 3, 6-8 pm
All ages. On April 4, 1865, Richmond and the surrounding areas awoke to find an American flag flying above the Virginia capital in Richmond for the first time in four long years.Join us for this last wartime sesquicentennial program as we commemorate the fall of Richmond and the confusion that reigned during those terrifying days after. This event will include an interactive reenactor experience illustrating a Federal detachment arriving at a rural Richmonder’s house during this tumultuous period. A more formal program including readings of the words of those who lived through it will follow. Information: mck32@ henrico.us
Built in stages beginning in 1819, John Clarke purchased the property in 1855 and added the second story. His daughter Estelle and her husband John Palmore added the clapboard section in 1910. In 1999, Vera Morton, daughter of John and Estelle Palmore, donated the house and 12 acres to the County. National Register Historic Site.