Board of Supervisors
Frank J. Thornton, Chairman
Richard W. Glover, Vice-Chairman
James B. Donati, Jr.
David A. Kaechele
Patricia S. O'Bannon

County Manager
Virgil R. Hazelett, P.E.
Header graphic
Published by the Henrico County Manager's Office
County Seal

Horizontal Line




Summary of Actions Taken by the Board on June 28, 2005


Mr. Thornton led the Board, staff, and public in reciting the Pledge of Allegiance.


Chaplain Thomas Wooden provided the invocation.


The minutes of the June 14, 2005 Regular Meeting were approved.



Mr. Hazelett announced that Mrs. O’Bannon was in Germany as part of a National Association of Counties fact-finding delegation that is examining magnetic levitation high-speed train operations.

On June 13, 2005, Chief Justice Leroy Hassell of the Virginia Supreme Court appointed Assistant County Attorney Rhysa South to the Virginia State Bar Disciplinary Board for a three-year term beginning July 1, 2005 and ending June 30, 2008.  Composed of 16 lawyers and 4 lay members, the Disciplinary Board adjudicates charges of misconduct and impairment filed against attorneys practicing throughout the Commonwealth of Virginia.  The Disciplinary Board hears appeals from the 17 statewide District Committees and also conducts initial trials in cases where the alleged misconduct would left suspension or revocation of an attorney’s license to practice law.


On June 16, 2005, the Council of the Virginia State Bar appointed County Attorney Joseph P. Rapisarda, Jr. to a three-year term on the Third District Committee.  Composed of seven lawyers and three lay members, the Committee acts as a trial court when determining charges alleging attorney misconduct in the jurisdictions of Henrico, Richmond, Chesterfield, Dinwiddie, and Suffolk.



Mr. Thornton recognized the following Boy Scouts from Troop 715, sponsored by Three Chopt Presbyterian Church, who were observing the meeting to fulfill a requirement for the Citizenship in the Community Merit Badge:  Bobby Efird, Bryce Praught, Josh Warren, Jeff Wilson, and Michael Wilson.



Virginia Roane, Chairperson of the Keep Henrico Beautiful Awards Subcommittee, was joined by members of the Board of Supervisors and the following members of the Keep Henrico Beautiful Committee in recognizing selected Henrico County residents and businesses for their beautification projects:  Chris Harris, Chairperson; Lynne Smolin-Yurchak, Vice-Chairperson; M. J. Cline; and Doris Davis.  Land Lover Awards were presented to the following residents:  Diane Horvath (Brookland), Gladys Barrett (Fairfield), Tom and Beverly Shaub (Three Chopt), and Shirley Madden (Varina).  Dennis King (Tuckahoe), who was not in attendance, was also a Land Lover Award recipient.  Clean Business Awards were presented to the following businesses:  Sheraton Richmond West Hotel (Brookland), represented by John Judd, Director of Operations, and George Remner, Chief Engineer; Virginia Press Association (Three Chopt), represented by Ginger Stanley, Executive Director, and David Cole, President; and Citizens and Farmers Bank, Sandston Branch (Varina), represented by Kitty Buckner, Branch Manager.  Dankos, Gordon & Whitlock, P.C. (Fairfield) and Aspen Gayton Terrace (Tuckahoe), which did not have representatives in attendance, were also Clean Business Award recipients.






Resolution appointing Lynne M. Yurchak and David Goodall, Sr. to the Board of Social Services.




Resolution appointing Grant L. Moffett and Walter H. Ryland to the Capital Region Arts and Cultural Funding Consortium Board of Directors.




Resolution appointing George T. Drumwright, Jr., Gary A. Hicks, John Marshall, A. Elisabeth Oxenham, John E. Mehfoud, Henry W. Stanley, Jr., Wade A. Kizer, Matthew P. Geary, Michael L. Wade, Mac R. Beaton, Brendan T. Hayes, Frederick D. Goodwin, III, Grant L. Moffett, William M. Gibson, Donald L. Boswell, J. Douglas Freeman, and Deborah G. LaVecchia to the Community Criminal Justice Board.




Resolution appointing David A. Kaechele to the Greater Richmond Partnership Board of Directors.




Resolution appointing James B. Donati, Jr., William E. Lowe, Gregory M. Clay, James H. Atkinson, Jr., Oliver L. Way, and Leonard C. Cake as members of the James River Development Corporation; and nominating James B. Donati, Jr. and William E. Lowe as directors of the James River Development Corporation.




Resolution accepting the resignation of David Goodall, Sr. from the Parks and Recreation Advisory Commission.




Resolution appointing Joseph L. Coleman, Jr. to the Parks and Recreation Advisory Commission.




Resolution appointing Christopher D. Lloyd, Barbara R. Steverson, Francis L. Robinson, and David A. Stosch to the Richmond Metropolitan Convention & Visitors Bureau Board of Directors.




Resolution appointing James B. Donati, Jr. and David A. Kaechele as members, and E. Todd Eure and Robert C. Thompson as alternate members of the Virginia Transit Association Board of Directors.






Resolution Authorizing the County Manager to Submit the Henrico 2005-06 Annual Consolidated Plan, Including the 2005-06 CDBG Program Year Sixteen Plan and the 2005-06 HOME Program Year Nine Plan; to Execute the CDBG Agreement for Program Year Sixteen and the HOME Agreement for Program Year Nine; and to Execute Contracts to Implement the CDBG and HOME Program Activities.      




Resolution for Signatory Authority for Lease of Property at 8611 Dixon Powers Drive, located in the Brookland District.






Resolution for Authorization to Accept Title I Workforce Investment Act (WIA) Grant Funds from the Virginia Employment Commission and Execute Grant Agreement.





Resolution for Appropriation of Funds for Fiscal Year 2005-06.




Resolution for Award of Contract for Architectural and Engineering Services for the Three Lakes Nature Center.





Resolution for Henrico Juvenile Detention Home Medical Services Contract.





Resolution for Award of Contract for Annual Engineering Services for Water Reclamation Facility to Hazen and Sawyer, P.C.





Resolution for Signatory Authority for Award of Construction Contract for Springfield Road Landfill Office Addition, Project No. 563130.




Resolution for Award of Construction Contract for Tuckahoe Park Drainage Improvements, Phase I from Rudolph Road to Outfall (approximately 1,280 feet).  Project #502005-704-306-03, located in the Three Chopt District.


Horizontal Line

Proud of Our Progress; Excited About Our Future.

Horizontal Line

Subscribe to the Agend-O-Gram. Use this link to find out how.

Read the latest issue of Henrico Today, distributed with the Richmond Times-Dispatch.

Return to Meeting Information Page

Return to Board and Manager's Office page

Return to main Henrico page

Visitor CenterResident CenterBusiness Center
A-Z DirectoryContact

© 2005 Henrico County, Virginia

Stars and Stripes