Board of Supervisors
Patricia S. O'Bannon, Chairman
Frank J. Thornton, Vice-Chairman
James B. Donati, Jr.
Richard W. Glover
David A. Kaechele

County Manager
Virgil R. Hazelett, P.E.
Header graphic
Published by the Henrico County Manager's Office
County Seal

Horizontal Line


Summary of Actions Taken by the Board on October 26, 2004


Mrs. O’Bannon led the Board, staff, and public in reciting the Pledge of Allegiance.


Rev. Charles Ward, Associate Pastor, Grove Avenue Baptist Church, provided the invocation.


The Board approved the minutes of the October 12, 2004 Regular and Special Meetings.



The Department of Public Utilities’ Keep Henrico Beautiful Program received two top awards at the Keep Virginia Beautiful Award Luncheon held on October 20, 2004 in Richmond, which was attended by state and local leaders in litter prevention, education, and conservation of natural resources.  Nancy Drumheller, Executive Coordinator of the Keep Henrico Beautiful Program, won first place in the Outstanding Individual category for leading and creating highly visible, innovative, easy to implement, and cost effective environmental education programs and resources.  The Keep Henrico Beautiful Program earned a first place award for a literature based multimedia environmental educational resource kit developed by Ms. Drumheller, members of the Keep Henrico Beautiful Committee, and several members of the County staff in collaboration with local author and illustrator Jenny H. Bingham.  Referred to as Rigsby, this kit has been distributed to Henrico County public and private schools, public libraries, private childcare facilities, Scout troops, and community groups to raise awareness of the harmful impact litter has on living things, especially wildlife in County parks.  Mrs. O’Bannon presented award plaques to Mrs. Drumheller and joined Mr. Hazelett in noting the interdepartmental cooperation that contributed to the success of Rigsby.  Also present for the presentation were Ms. Bingham; Arthur Petrini, Director of Public Utilities; Chris Harris, Chairman of the Keep Henrico Beautiful Program; and Janice Robinson, Office Assistant III for the Department of Public Relations & Media Services.  


Mr. Thornton noted the recent passing of Retired Vice Admiral Samuel L. Gravely, Jr., a graduate of Virginia Union University who was the first African-American to be selected to the rank of commander, captain, rear admiral, and vice admiral in the United States Navy.  Mr. Gravely’s distinguished naval career spanned from 1942 to 1980.

Mrs. O’Bannon recognized the following Boy Scouts from Troop 799, sponsored by Trinity United Methodist Church, who were observing the meeting to fulfill a requirement for the Citizenship in the Community Merit Badge:  Justin Crews, Andrew Foster, Marshall Jones, Sam Jones, Will Kinton, Kirby Norris, Ian Rowland, Clark Thornhill, and Trevor White.  Joining the Scouts were Scoutmaster Bill White and Assistant Scoutmasters John Crews and Kenny Jones.


Mrs. O’Bannon recognized a group of students from Douglas S. Freeman High School, who were observing the meeting for their Government class.  The following students were in attendance:  Brooke Currence, Preston Duke, Christina Dunkum, William Hanna, Barrett Luxhoj, Katie Mayo, Frank McGraw, Marzana Naz, Stephen Ogburn, Mason Owen, Whitney Proffitt, Julia Reisenwitz, Bojan Savanovic, Danny Schwartz, Enka Schwartz, and Kathryn Stoneburner.   


Mrs. O’Bannon announced that the Central Virginia Waste Management Authority would be collecting unwanted electronic devices for refurbishment or recycling at the County’s western Government Center on Saturday, November 6, 2004, between the hours of 9:00 a.m. and 3:00 p.m.  She noted that most items would be accepted at no charge but that fees would be charged for televisions and computer monitors.


Mrs. O’Bannon recognized Dr. Nelson Wikstrom, Professor of Political Science and Public Administration at Virginia Commonwealth University, author of County Manager Government in Henrico, Virginia.



Mrs. O’Bannon recognized the presence of Nicole Johnson of the Richmond Times-Dispatch, Tom Lappas of the Henrico Citizen, Jonathan Spiers of the Henrico County Leader, and Shelby Brown and Chris Norton of WTVR-TV 6.



Deferred to November 23, 2004 Meeting


Resolution for Northwest Elementary School #8 Site Substantially in Accord with Henrico County Comprehensive Plan.




Resolution for Signatory Authority for Quitclaim of Portion of Utility Easement in Greenwood Glen, located in the Fairfield District.




Resolution for Award of Construction Contract at Springfield Road Landfill for Landfill Gas, Phases 1 and 2 to Shaw Environmental, Inc.





Resolution for Additional $200 Fine for Speeding on Certain County Streets.




Resolution accepting Millrace, Sections 1 and 2, located in the Three Chopt District, into the County road system for maintenance.


Proud of Our Progress; Excited About Our Future.

Horizontal Line
Subscribe to the Agend-O-Gram. Use this link to find out how.

Read the latest issue of Henrico Today, distributed with the Richmond Times-Dispatch.

Return to Meeting Information Page

Return to Board and Manager's Office page

Return to main Henrico page

Visitor CenterResident CenterBusiness Center
A-Z DirectoryContact

© 2004 Henrico County, Virginia

Stars and Stripes