# **Voter Registration and Elections**

# History

# **Voter Registration and Elections**

Although historical records indicate that the Henrico County Electoral Board has been in existence for decades, detailed Board minutes date only to 1953. The position of General Registrar was established in 1948 by state law. Prior to then, persons who wished to register to vote were required to seek out the person designated as their district registrar, often at the registrar's home and at the registrar's convenience.

The Constitution of Virginia establishes the requirement that each county and city shall have a three member electoral board to carry out the election duties for their jurisdiction as required by law. The members of the electoral board serve staggered three year terms. Two of the members are of the same political party as the Governor and the remaining member shall be of the political party which had the next highest number of votes in the election for Governor.

Duties of the electoral board include:

- Appointment of the Henrico County General Registrar for a four year term;
- Appointment of the officers of election for a one year term;
- Receive reports of campaign finance contributions and expenditures;
- Conduct the canvass of election on the day following any election and determining the official results of the election

Voter registration and election processes that were previously handled with pencil and paper are now electronically driven. Henrico County voters have used paper ballots, punch cards, and now touchscreen electronic voting machines. Voter registration has widened from seeking out a district registrar to multiple agencies and locations that provide access to voter registration services.

The following brief history was compiled from available records.

#### 1953

Electoral Board -S.T. Binns, Jr., Garrett Kulp, Mary O. Bass

#### 1954

Electoral Board- S.T. Binns, Jr., Mrs. Kenneth C. Bass, Jr., Mr. Garrett

#### 1959-1962

Electoral Board- E.R. Boisseau, Linwood E. Toombs, Garrett H. Kulp

#### 1966

Electoral Board- E.R. Boisseau, Linwood E. Toombs, C. Kemper Lorraine.

Mary Patterson was appointed General Registrar.

## 1967-1968

Electoral Board- E. R. Boisseau, Roy D. Pullen, Jr., C. Kemper Lorraine

# 1969-1970

Electoral Board- Bebe W. West, E.R. Boisseau, Roy Pullen, Jr.

#### 1971-1981

Electoral Board- Bebe W. West, E.R. Boisseau, Walter R. Gambill

#### 1971

The County moves from paper to AVM machines (Lever machines). Barbara Thompson is appointed General Registrar in 1977. The Registrar's Office moves to the Government Center 1977.

## 1981-1983

Electoral Board- Philomena M. Bryant, Jean Ritchie Karger, E.R. Boisseau

# <u>1983-1992</u>

Electoral Board- E.R. Boisseau, Philomena M. Bryant, Ronald B. Chaney

# 1985

The County moves to punchcard voting machines.

#### 1993-1994

Electoral Board- Bebe West, E.R. Boisseau, Ronald B. Chaney

## 1994-2003

Electoral Board- A.J. Penley, Bebe West and Ronald B. Chaney

#### 1995

Janet C. Coon is appointed General Registrar

#### 2003-2011

Electoral Board- Alice F. Creighton, Bebe West, Ronald B. Chaney

## 2004- Present

Mark J. Coakley is appointed General Registrar

#### 2005

The County moves to DRE (Direct Record Electronic) voting machines.

#### 2011-2014

Electoral Board- Alice F. Creighton, Bebe West, Terrill J. Richardson The County begins using electronic pollbooks at the precincts to look up voters.

2014 Electoral Board- Alice F. Creighton, Bebe West, April A. Cain.

2015
The County moves to Digital Optical Scanning voting machines.
Electoral Board- Alice F. Creighton, April A. Cain, and Stephen A. Bryant.